{Tuesday, Dec. 16, 2008}
What I have been doing to liven up my potentially-boring days:

On Wednesday, 3rd December 2008, I took a bus to Hg to find Lynn. I didn't know so many buses from my area (within one to two or three bus stops away) went there. Though I took 3 buses, I reached there in 1 hour because I didn't have to wait long for the buses, in fact, they came within half a minute, ok except for the first bus, which still came within 5 minutes. (Now I know how long it takes for my Hg friends to go to school, and I have seen part of their world.) I passed Lynn the $4 as a donation to the OCIP she and YH are on to Vietnam, and wrote on a postcard for the children in return. I ended up "nagging" and giving out travel packing advice to Lynn for her Mum was so worried: it was Lynn's first trip without her parents.

I then walked with Lynn to the nearby shopping mall, followed her to a shop for a while then we parted ways. I pray for yours and YH's safety, and for the beneficiaries to be blessed.

On Thursday, I went out with Marie for lunch because her Mum asked her too for there were few people at home. We went to Novena Square and ate at Delifrance after walking around Novena Square and Velocity for quite a bit till we were more hungry and decided what to eat. We thought of MOS but saw Delifrance and Marie mentioned she hadn't eaten there in a long time, and the cheaper set meal's price fell within our budget. So it was Delifrance. We had a good chat and walk around. We've known each other for so long I can talk to her about anything and not get any weird stares, like how some things are inappropriate to be said to some friends because they aren't as close, and more importantly because society deems it inappropriate to talk about. Stupid societal norms sometimes ah.. She was attracted to the shiny Christmas decorations in the atrium in Velocity, which we agreed were overpriced. We both like Animal. It's surprising that I can walk Novena Square for the second time in a week or 2 and not feel bored. I walked the first time with MT and we were bored. I guess because we had or were being target shoppers: we knew what we wanted to do. And I think it was because we didn't want to see everything and comment on it, and sometimes, we don't have anything to say... I don't know, we LIVE with each other. I guess it could've been that Marie and I spent less time wandering around.

I bought my sibling's presents before lunch. After lunch, we went to Square 2 for a bit. I bought Marie her early Christmas present: ice cream. Cheap, practical, appreciated. We had visited Cotton On, Body Shop, MPH, Animal, Wild Roses, the shop selling earrings and pyjamas, the Korean "supermarket", Yami Yoghurt, and some shops that I have forgotten. MT and I walked the whole of Novena Square and Velocity, some of Square 2, and some of United Square. I then went over to Marie's and spent some time there talking and looking at her jewellery craft, mostly earrings but got some bracelets and necklaces. You were supposed to show me your school jacket, but we both forgot. And she gave me my Christmas present: anyone of the jewellery she had shown me laid out on the table. I took "fish on a line". Thanks so much! I'm keeping it till it's time to wear it on Christmas Day. Not too many days before, I think on the Monday, I went over and chatted, watched TV and played piano with Sarah and she showed me her card tricks. :) :)

On Friday, went to school for meeting. Since secretary was busy and hence didn't attend, I took the minutes. I tried listening as hard as I can to all that was discussed, points here and there, in Mandarin and English. I didn't catch everything. What I did catch I just typed down as I heard, and at home I sorted them out into categories and followed the format and did the minutes. Thankfully, I could follow the secretary's previous minutes which followed a format strongly. :) Phew, thanks to her I could do something and not be so lost.

Saturday, I rested at home I guess, judging from my handphone calendar. No... I could've done something... No... I don't remember anything clearly. I think I took it as a day I could rest from going out so much, though I booked the earliest lesson so I could leave the afternoon free. Ah yes, I remember now, I played computer and didn't get my nap that I intended.

Sunday, I went to MT's piano recital and took photos. Julia and Sarah performed too, and they came over to my place and we walked the dog to the nearby park and we took photos. I'm proud of them, especially of MT.

On Monday, it was Hari Raya Haji, and so Pinky and I went cycling in the rain in East Coast Park. It drizzled the whole day, it was just a matter of how heavy/intense the drizzle was. On Pinky's suggestion, we brought windbreakers (and coincidentally caps as well) and met up at a bus stop and went to Old Airport Road Food Court for lunch. We were early so we just sat down and caught up with each other till it was lunch time, and since we just had breakfast before meeting up, we both had porridge. We then took a bus down to East Coast, rented the bikes, put on our windbreakers and caps, and cycled off. We went to Bedok Jetty, past the cable ski and Jumbo seafood, quite far I think, and back and past the bike rental place in the other direction for we still had time. Just the two of us, cycling side by side, in the rain, except for a few times when we had to cycle in single file, and since we were both learning driving, out came the mirror-signal-blindspot joke. hahaha. :D

After which, I went to her home for a while for it was on the way for me, where I could change bus near her place. I used her toilet and relished the breeze coming through her window in the room. The breeze was very cooling and the view was beautiful. I looked through her training booklet for driving. I found out she uses the same facial cleanser as I do, which isn't a common brand. I also had a bottle of Vitagen, (Thanks!) which I felt like having after seeing the bottles of Yakult sold downstairs in the Papa shop. She then walked me to a bus stop which was unusual because buses going to and coming from the terminal would stop at that bus stop, so she pointed out to look at the (base) colour of the signboard, if it was red or white, to tell the direction of the bus. As the bus turned the corner after leaving the bus stop, I turned and looked through the back window of the bus and saw her crossing the zebra crossing back to her home, and I saw her look at me, but I wasn't sure. Later I found out she thought she saw me looking at her too, so whaddayouknow, we both had seen each other as our parting contact.

On Tuesday, I went to the orthodontist and had a new rubber band configuration, and for 2 or 3 days it made my teeth hurt for I usually don't wear rubber bands during the day (for I snap them and don't want to look for a washroom and wash my hand clean and put on new rubber bands only to snap them again later), but this time I wore because without it my canines hurt more as compared to the pain when I wore the rubber bands (which was more blunt/less sharp and spread out). Anyway, on the first day I wore the rubber bands the pain was still bearable, and on Auntie Joyce's invitation, I went out for pizza dinner with my cousins. It was her plan that she take her family out for dinner to celebrate Julia's birthday, and that it would be a surprise that Gwen and the 4 of us siblings show up. However, Mama let Julia in on the idea. What happened was, KM was granted permission to go with us out for dinner, so Warni had to explain to Mama, and Mama wanted to confirm if it was true, and so called Julia to ask her. -_-" Mama... So the secret was let out. ANYWAY, MP couldn't come for she had cramps. We had California Pizza. The Peking duck and the cheese pizza was nice. Santa Fe wasn't too bad. The Hawaiian could use more ham. The Greek wasn't as nice as I expected. The mushroom was ok too... I can't remember everything, but we ordered 6 in total, and I had tried everyone of them and ate a lot of pizza. After the pizza, it was cake-cutting. The blueberry cheesecake from Secret Recipe was delicious.

On Wednesday, after driving, I went to have MOS burger with Jessica for lunch. We hadn't seen each other in a long time. Both of us liked MOS burger so decided to go there for lunch. It was great seeing her again. We originally wanted to walk Singapore River together, but she was a bit sick (and I was a bit lazy and was recovering from the cycling), so we went to my place where Jessica played with Lucky and Kitty-Chan and went around my place looking at things. She was stunned by the toy collection (as with most people). At her request, we took lots of photos with Lucky and Kitty, and Lucky licked her a few times on the face. I learned Kitty was quite good-mannered for a cat for she allowed herself to be picked up and petted, though she didn't like it. She doesn't dao people as much as Jessica's Bella. When it was time for her to leave, I walked her out to the main road, where I met MT who just had got off from the bus and was walking in. So I joked I exchanged Jessica for MT.

On Thursday, Marie, Sarah and I wanted to go cycling at Bishan Park. I wondered if I should for my driving exam was the next day and I had just recovered from the cycling on Monday, and hence was a bit reluctant to go cycling, but I first asked the 2 of them for their intentions first. They decided against it and went with the plan B they had already suggested before: play board games. The sky was like a fickle-minded woman: it couldn't decide whether to rain or not. The sky was dark, the air was humid, but we couldn't tell if it was definitely going to rain. I brought over "The Game of Life" and my guitar and thumb drive, as well as a can of orange drink and some Japanese foodstuff. They wanted Pay Day but unfortunately, the game went missing. Like old days, except not on the floor, we played board games together. We agree that we can't play monopoly finish except for that one-off incidents. It was fun, Sarah had 2 career changes, and good pay, as well as Marie. I got the 2nd worst pay possible, but cleared my debts and got things comfortable. We were thankful we didn't go cycling for while playing, the sky finally decided to rain, and it rained heavily with thunder and lightning. After that, Sarah went to read her book while Marie and I plugged the thumb drive and opened the list of Christian song sheets of lyrics and chords for guitar and we strummed guitar, listened to Christian and other music and sang along. (It's very rare to hear me sing when I'm not alone out of church.)

After which at their Mum's invitation, I joined them out for dinner at NUSS Graduate Club at Kent Ridge, for she wanted to spend her credit there after just joining as a member. We initially wanted to go to Adam Road's but it was closed for improvement works. The food at the cafe was more expensive than at British Club's, but it was very good. Well-cooked, soft, not raw, and delicious. I and Auntie Phyllis ordered the "From Russia with Love", which I don't think is Russian, but I can't confirm because the staff just referred to it as "cod fish". It was soft and came with tartar sauce, potato thing and veggies cooked and raw rocket leaves. Sarah had roast beef with wedges, and Marie had Cordon Bleu, which is chicken breast stuffed with ham. It tasted nice. After eating that much meat, and to save on money, we went back and had fruits at their home. It was the first time I ate persimmon. I am ambivalent about it. I just don't like the skin, as with apple skin. I like plum. I had a good time with them and was very happy. They wished me good luck for my driving exam the next day.

Friday, driving test. I'm glad to have passed. Read the other entry for the details.

We had our first fencing training during the holidays on Saturday. I had a feeling that Cheryl was on the same bus but didn't pursue the matter, and found out later she was sitting at the last row, huddled for she was feeling nauseous. Poor girl. I should've gone to look for her so I could keep watch over her. Oh well. Now I know to trust my premonitions harder (I hope I remember to do that). I was glad to tell them I passed my driving, and received a lot of congratulations. I am very thankful for their congrats and even more thankful to God for helping me to pass. My fencing is still as bad as ever and need to practice imaginary fencing in my room I guess. I brought back home the club equipment to wash and clean to make them white, so that they would look and SMELL nice.I also brought back the mask to disinfect for I was sick. But before going home, nearly all of us went out for lunch together after training. I first bathed in school (first time ever besides during orientation and camps), packed my equipment (which was why I brought 2 big bags)and the 13 of us squeezed into 2 cars and went to Holland Village's Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao where we ate a big bowl of La Mian each and (quite) a bit of Xiao Long Bao with it. We were very full and satisfied with the meal. We then parted ways; I got a ride from Khai to somewhere nearer my place to go home. So I was out from 9am to 5pm++.

Sunday was Church in the evening. The PA guy on duty wasn't present so MP and I had to do the AVA. Debbie also attended service, and she came over to our house for the first time since the works. I showed her around and she petted Kitty. It was nice seeing her again.

I also had to arrange an appointment for the SingTel people to come and fix the modem. The internet has died since Sunday morning. The reason why you can see this post is that I wrote this as a draft on the computer first.

Today's a Monday. No internet still so it's boring. My illness got a bit worse, but I got a feeling today would be the worst day and things will get better after this and I should be well by Thursday, competition day. I had to accompany KM to the doctors. Then went home. Earlier I woke up late (how nice for a change), and had a nap before lunch. I had diahorrea, a lot of coughing (for I didn't take my medicine) to clear the phelgm, quite a bit of yellow and green phelgm, and the worst thing is my voice has changed. It's a bit, how to describe it, weird, that it's not smooth and clear, it's like I got friction in the throat, which I do, it's not whispery but at the higher pitches it's a bit muted whispery, lower pitches it's I guess "like a frog in the throat", and at a certain pitch, there's no sound. I've been intending to use the silent treatment to help it heal after the Zzz buzzing massage didn't work, but haven't been very successful at it yet for I have talked a bit. At least, with the mucosolvent FLUMICIL (remember the name), my ENT (ear nose and throat) is clear of mucus, and I have thereby eliminated it as the cause of the funny sounding voice, which I assumed was due to the cold. I now guess that, because of the cold, I had been using a certain pitch all the time, and I could've talked too much that I hurt it, and I could've also hurt it from the a lot of coughing to clear the phelgm. I hope my voice won't be altered forever, that my vocal chords haven't been damaged. I guess for some of you readers, it'll be amusing to hear that voice coming out of me for now.

So this has been how I have been trying to make my holidays less boring. And it seems for, at least these 2 weeks, I have been successful at it.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!