{Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2008}
FAC (external) - 31stOctober2008(Friday)

This is part of a series of overdue entries.

On 31st October, Friday, YL, AE, Jeff, Ivan and I went to teach some brigadier boys (Boys Brigade boys) in a secondary school fencing. They had the FAC before last year so this year, they revised the basics and learnt a bit more like re-lunge, and YL showed the parry-1, 2, 5 etc, but not all the 8, besides the 4,6,7,8 that we already know. (I never knew there were 8 parrys.) YL did the teaching, Ivan did the demonstrations with YL, AE stood around and took photos, Jeff stood around and supervise, I also stood around and watched the boys, and became a partner for one of them for the blade work for there were an odd number of them.

We first had met up at MPSH to sort out and count the equipment. The masks (that day was the day I finally learnt to call it a mask and not a helmet) were febreezed, (yes!!! Finally...so smelly.), brought I think 30 blades and 10++ jackets and breeches. They went into the boot of YL�s car. YL drove us all there. And the boys helped us carry some of the equipment up to the performing arts room, which was on the 4th floor (!). I noticed YL�s bright blue socks matched his shoes. Black adidas superstar with yellow and blue stripes. I like adidas superstar and I own 2 pairs, (because one I wore so often the sole is wearing out until I can see the layer under the sole structure that usually is not seen (and duh not supposed to be seen)), both in white, including stripes.

Later the boys and some of the teachers/officers went on the piste and Jeff, AE and I helped them suit up. YL gave a short crash course to the officers and the 4 of us presided over the bouts. It was fun presiding them because they thought of different moves that got my brain working, and the audience�s comments, and I got them to help me keep track of the points because I couldn�t (and still can�t) remember the points during the bouts. YL and Ivan corrected me on my decisions. Thanks, I�m still learning. (: need to open my eyes wider and have wider vision and quick reflexes/memory/decisions and good memory. One of the boys wore flip-flops because his heal had a wound, but it had scabbed up already, so he could fence, and he borrowed my shoes to do so. And even though he wore shoes slightly larger than his feet, and he didn�t wear specs (degree was more than 300, I had asked him), he could fence pretty well apparently (but I couldn�t see because I was presiding) (haizz.. reminds me of the fact that I have never seen my JC classmate do 99 sit-ups in a minute because I am always holding somebody�s ankles and counting during that time.)
Some of the boys could fence very well (and I think they are better than I am). I presided the last bout. The pair of them wanted to continue fencing after they had already reached match point, so they negotiated with me for 5 more points and I asked the teacher and teacher decided last point. So the 2 of them fought long, hard, and fun.

It ended on a good note and they had fun. I had fun too. (:

After which, we went back to school. Jeff left earlier because he had to do a project. We left the secondary school at 6.30pm and I think Florence, Joanna and Cheryl had been waiting for quite some time, since 5.30pm. Sorry... They helped and we made quick work of keeping the equipment. We then chatted and discussed about club stuff as well, on the event we were planning and the Genting trip (which I�m not going on).
After that, YL drove Ivan, Cheryl, AE and I to dinner somewhere in Clementi. Apparently the fencers often go there that one stall auntie recognises them. It is the first time I went to makan with the fencers because usually, while they go for supper, I go home. Got CS1101C lab to do, and I don�t like travelling home on my own in the dark. It was the first time I had stingray. The meat was soft. Could've been nice just that the chilli was sour and very hot. I cannot tahan chilli, and though I took the meat from the inside of the stingray without the skin, the oil from the chilli coated stingray got onto the piece I took. I found out Cheryl is allergic to all seafood except fish and hokkien mee (in case you didn�t know, it�s cooked in seafood stock with prawn). Another person! (haha, I�m the only one in my immediate family who isn�t allergic to anything, but alas, I am so fussy over somethings.)

During dinner, we chatted, and for the first time I got to know more about the other fencers and talked with them about other stuff besides fencing. I did quite little talking and let them do the talking, and besides, I didn�t have anything really worth saying. It�s nice to others to be the listening ear at times.

After that, YL dropped Cheryl and I at the bus-stop on his way home. I found out during the car ride that they have intentions to stay on campus next semester, just like I do! Applications are opening on 17th November, and I don�t want to miss it!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!