{Thursday, Dec. 13, 2007}
extracting teeth.

yesterday, i had my teeth extracted. it's not as painful as it seems, but nevertheless, it's an experience i don't want to repeat, but i have to cos only 2 out of 4 of my teeth were extracted then.

Mum made me go down by myself to the dental surgeon's because she was busy having lunch and shopping with a friend from Hong Kong. If her friend wasn't from Hong Kong, and if she wasn't a nice person (she was a nice person), it would have been more difficult to forgive Mum for not being there at an important stressful moment.

I spent the night before and nearly the whole of wednesday morning trying to decide if i should pluck me teeth. If i pluck, it'll be a bloody mess, and i would be "down" for a week (can't eat hard food, gotta take extra care, etc.) and there is a probably i might get something i don't want to get: gaps in my teeth like daddy, so he keeps licking them after every meal to remove the food trapped there. eww.

but if i don't pluck my teeth, my jaw would grow longer to make room for the wisdom teeth. Worse still, what would happen if my wisdom teeth decided to do funny things instead of erupting upwards? I wasn't feeling any pain in my jaw then, but what if i felt it later, would it be too late? i want to be able to enjoy Christmas dinner fully.

Lucky, poor bored Lucky, is lying down next to me now. aww.

Daddy had been discouraging me, Dr. Chua has been nagging me into doing it for months, MT also (but she never extract teeth before), Mum was on the fence. So, i consulted lynn and YS. thankfully, Lynn went for dental work shadowing, so she observed tooth extraction and could explain things ta me. That was very helpful. More helpful than the scary wikipedia page.

the dentist also explained to me that a blood clot would form inside the hole in the bone, a "good blood clot" would slowly fill up, and 3-4 weeks later, gum would grow over it. I'm awaiting for that day to come.

so in the end, i "just do it". that kind of attitude that kickstarts people into doing things they don't wanna do, like suicide.

the assistant was a very nice lady who let me hold her hand (i gripped the fingers tightly). and the doctor was very good, very skillful. He first made me eat painkiller, then rub on some pink liquid which numbed my teeth, gum, cheek and tongue. I was startled by the bitter taste and tingling sensation, but he told me it was supposed to be that way, and that some kids he knew played with it for fun. (i guess those kids would be boys.) such a disgusting taste.

then, he injected me with anesthesia, SLOWLY. I felt the needle going a bit into the roof of my mouth, he first injected the inside and outside of the lower and upper gum by the way, and after slowly carefully injecting, I felt no pain there, in fact, I felt NOTHING. My cheek couldn't feel anything, reminding me of the time I had a concussion. He didn't inject my tongue so my tongue could still move.

then he pinch me on some part of my mouth with the pliers. "Do you feel any pain?" or something like that, like "anything?". I felt nothing at all. He is pinching me mouth?

then he grabbed onto my lower tooth. He explained to me there would be a weird sensation, which i felt all right, as the tooth was slowly moved left and right and prised (how to spell?) out. And the tooth was out! OMGOSh.

then he proceeded to remove the top one, after putting gauze into the bleeding hole. I got big healthy teeth with deep roots, so as he move the tooth left and right, I felt my skull move right and left under my skin. Such an awful feeling. He had to slowly carefully move left and right, and the other tooth was out! just like that!

Given some gauze, painkillers and mouthrinse(which i was supposed to use morning and night, but i didn't use it this morning).

In the car ride home, Mum had picked me up and that's how I met mum's friend, I felt bad in the head. I think the anesthesia had travelled up to my brain, such an awful feeling. I had already changed my gauze several times before mum arrived.

at home, changed gauze again, then knocked off. Mum and MT and KM went VivoCity. I would have gone if I didn't have the gauze problem. Bloddy saliva-ful thing. disgusting. when i woke up, the anesthesia had worn off and i felt much better. slept and woke up again until dinner time, which was porridge, fortunately not plain porridge but cooked with chicken stock, and stewed fatty pork and tau pok and a bit of veggie. yum.

I was tired of sleeping so went online. i wanted to blog, but only got round to doing it today.

Mum also bought for us supper, century egg porridge from longhouse. the rice grains had broken so it was very smooth, and it was flavourful without MSG. yum.

then brush teeth, use the disgusting mouthrinse. not allowed to dilute it, not allowed to drink water for half an hour, so can i swallow the saliva? I didn't think i could, so i kept going toilet to spit it out. so disgusting taste, so irritating, i waited half an hour so that after that, i could swallow my saliva, then i could sleep peacefully. now ya know why i never use the mouthrinse this morning.

Got an ugly big hole in my smile now. look like a haggard. so ugly. My orthodontist better close that hole up or else I would find it very difficult to forgive her for going through such pains for a nice smile. I got my teeth too, they didn't look like the ones from wikipedia. quite clean and blood-free those 2 teeth.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!