{Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2008}
Day One of Chinese New Year of the Rat 2008, don't know what element. I think it's gold.

Let's do a bit recapping, shall we? It's been a week since I last blogged, i just realised.

CNY EVE



After work, I went down to harbourfront to meet mum and KM. Lo and behold, I was there first. She got stuck at a flyover. jam. haha. The good thing about public transport is that it's space-saving, frequent (applicable to MRTs only), no need to worry about parking and it's cheaper than using car, and more environmentally-friendly. (i tell you, if you gave me a tiny paper used bus ticket, i would recycle it. but i think i waste too much water when washing hands and hair.) However, driving the car gives independence, especially when there is little public transport to that place (eg. few services, infrequent/late buses, no mrt), and comfort cos it's more spacious, definitely more spacious than peak hour, and most of the time faster than public transport.

I went to have my lunch first at food republic. sliced fish soup with mee sua. it's ok, not repulsive, but not something to shout about. especially the price:$4.50. I tell you, if you serve mee sua soup must put fried onion oil, or whatever is that fragrant oil. Then does the dish become "complete". Haha, but i'd rather eat at food republic than the kopitiam and banquet downstairs, i think downstairs would be SUPER crowded.

So after that, I found mum. Mum was shopping around with KM, doing the last pre-CNY shopping (i'm not implying any shopping sprees after CNY). KM wanted to buy clothes from G2000. It was his latest fetish, but he is too big to fit into any of the pants, so no long pants for him. harhar.

We bought MT a denim skirt from hang ten. Mum got talked into buying a hang ten membership. GOTTO PAY TO JOIN LEH! and we don't shop at hang ten often. Giodarno is free some more, and no expiry for gio whereas hang ten has expiry. MT likes the skirt.

At home, we had steamboat for our reunion dinner, just our immediate family, which already is quite large. so many yummy things to eat. wantan, veggie, tang hoon, pork, prawns, taupok etc. Suprisingly, I wasn't really full after the meal. Satisfied and content. Maybe cos I didn't really as much as I can :D

If i'm not wrong, Harry Potter and the socerer's stone was playing on RTM2. Some of my family were watching it. I watched only the last bit when the house cup was awarded out onwards.

CNY Day 1

Woke up late in the morning (around 10am) :D haven't had such restful sleep in a long time. Changed out into my new top, an elbow-length stripped polo shirt, and a pair of jeans and after getting dressed, I went downstairs to bai nian to my grandparents and parents in the order of their age. Personal choice that day. Later I went to visit my other grandmother.

We went back home for lunch. Yummy CNY dishes were served. fatt choi with oyster, chap choi (or whatever it is called which is supposed to be prosperous vegetables), soup with many ingredients such as sea cucumber and mushroom and abalone, and mama's wickedly chicken curry, and a non-spicy one for people like me. So yummy the food. And with rice, even better.

My father's side of the family came over around late lunch time, yup we had a late lunch at around 1-2pm. By the time we reached back, maybe one of my aunts was already there. Some already had lunch before they came, they may have eaten a bit of the food served. Mama's food good.

It was Yeye's birthday that day, so we gathered around the end of the dining table. The cake was huge, around 30cm long i guess? But then again, the whole of my father's side was over, so it was around 20 people. We sang a birthday song then cut the cake. I went around serving the cake, the rest of the cake was kept into a few large plastic boxes to bring home and slowly eat for breakfast or tea time. hahar.

Most of my cousins are quite a bit older than me. only 2 of my cousins are of my age, even then they're still older than me. haha. the guy cousins and uncles were huddled looking at a camera. yar. very hard for girls to break into the realm of photography and thrive. it may be considered too much a guy thing. sad.

My relatives were also amused by the large fish we have, the one supposedly vegetarian. I think it would eat fingers too if you gave it a chance. But the fish isn't scary, cos it's in the tank. haha. It resembles a luohan fish in terms of the size and the slight lump on the head. this particular fish has a lump much smaller than luohans. In additions, the colouration is very different. Our's is creamy yellow with injected pinkish red scales. Yes, injection of dye. Cruel isn't it, and I am against the tattoo-ing of mollies and other fishes with numbers or whatsoever. And that fish shop owner in PS tell me it's laser. When I asked her, "doesn't it hurt the fish?" she didn't give a reply.

Slowly our relatives left. We had no plans for the rest of the day. I took out a guitar and played a few chords. It's been quite some time since I played the guitar and I enjoyed being able to use my fingers and head again to produce something higher order than what i do at work.

Mum decided to take us out to walk around a shopping centre to pass the time since we were going to have a late dinner since we had a late lunch. But along the way, mum decided to go to Popo's house first, supposedly for a short while, trying to catch small kuku and family who had been trying to catch our family.

In the end, we stayed there for 2 and half hours! Fortunately, my cousins came so not so lonely. they added life into an otherwise super-boring house. We grew tired of watching TV. We had been watching disney channel to entertain ourselves for the first hour we were there. We don't have disney channel at home anymore cos daddy said we were too old and so cancelled it. But I do wonder why we have PLAYHOUSE DISNEY. haha. to entertain little kids that do visit? i dunno, but we let one of our small cousins watch it when he came over quite a long time ago cos otherwise he'd have nothing to do.

Finally went to vivocity. Suprisingly, not all the stores were closed. Bossini, hang ten, giodarno, boost juice, bk, long john silver's and some restaurants. There were many people at the board walk outside. I would have liked a boost juice's strawberry squeeze, yummy, but 1: no money, 2: don't want to spoil dinner.

So walked around and around and around on our own, I even walked into forever 21, somewhere where I wouldn't normally go, and giant as well, ah yes, and i caught KM eating a pork floss bun, and saw quite a number of people waiting to get onto the sentosa express.

Went home for dinner. Nearly the same food as lunch, but I don't mind. I love these dishes and we can only get them once a year. Mama mixed the hot and not hot curry together since the total voiume could fit into one pot. wow. I took a wee bit of orange curry, avoiding the chilli oil, and put it on a bit of my rice, like lunch as well, and for subsequent days. yum.

I had space for dinner, though I couldn't finish lunch.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!