{Sunday, Jun. 23, 2013}
24th Birthday: the light-hearted stuff

Ok now for the lighthearted stuff.

On 8th June 2013 I went out with Ricky, Chen Cen and Evi for dinner at Brotzeit to celebrate Ricky & my birthday. But Ricky pantang, doesn�t want to celebrate his birthday early, saying that angmoh superstition is like that because it means that you want the person to age earlier. This totally goes against the Chinese tradition which is to celebrate before ok but not after the birthday. Well, ok, nothing wrong with letting him being pantang, but I had no qualms and still went ahead to have a good evening.

On 9th June 2013 I met up with my CVE kaki for dinner at Ippudo Ramen and was so happy to see them all again. We went to Honeymoon dessert which was more conducive for chatting to catch up with each other. They are amazing people and I feel so comfortable with them. Yet I am still learning more about them.

In the office 3 of us have our birthdays very close to each other. Chen Yingxuan from NUS EVE my batch is 12th June 1989. Then my batchmate Ricky Nagatie is 13th June 1988. So we 3 shared and cut cake together in the office on 12th June 2013 haha.

On my birthday I took leave and went to River Safari, Singapore�s latest zoo, with mummy and Keat Mun. It was a nice outing but I can tell you it was not worth going at that point of time because only half the animals had arrived. I saw the fat and lazy pandas, which are just like Keat Mun. I saw the kawaii red pandas! I saw the huge tank of a huge herd of huge manatees. I saw the Indian False Gharial up close. I saw the huge Mekong cat fish which looked like gigantic fat black pomfrets with whiskers. HUGE fish. I saw cute tiny Yangtze alligator and dwarf crocodile. And one good thing about the River Safari is that it doesn�t have that zoo smell because most of the animals live in tanks.

Mummy bought me a red panda soft toy which I have named 红红because I lacked inspiration at the needed moment. I had wanted one ever since I saw the red pandas in Hong Kong�s Ocean Park. We had lunch at the Mama Panda caf� just after the panda exhibit. Such a cute name. It was a little bit pricey but the food tasted quite ok. I LOVE the panda pau. It is sooooo cute! And the pau bread was soft, and the dark tau sar filling inside wasn�t too sweet. Just right! Perfect! We tabao-ed a couple panda pau home by wrapping it in tissue (the caf� only had the regular plastic carrier bag) and putting it into a plastic bag. I ate those two.

We managed to convert the River Safari ticket to a Park Hopper (River Safari + Zoo) ticket which helped us save money to enter the zoo. Keat Mun wanted to see the white tiger and kept asking on it, even though we had not bought the ticket to the zoo. The zoo in comparison to River Safari felt dated and had that zoo smell. But what can you expect? It is not easy renovating the exhibits and they can only renovate one at a time. I saw the new home of Inuka and Inuka was having a fun time splashing around playing with his big white ball. I also saw the new additions of wolverine and tanuki. They were not exactly cute or attractive. Btw according to some Japanese horoscope, my auntie told me I am a tanuki, which is a shape-shifter. Meaning my character also changes to the situation. Huhur.

We had family dinner at Cathay restaurant. The food was yummy as always. I love the fried green taufoo with abalone and the scallops. Cantonese food yay. At home, I was the only one cutting cake. It was a plain banana butter cake, which is good to eat at subsequent breakfasts. It felt weird and I missed my twin sister. Usually I sing birthday song for other people and when I am the only one with no one to sing the birthday song to, to be at the pure receiving end of the song, it felt weird. I always had her with me except for the year I went for SEP. I don�t know if she misses me or even cares. I felt sad for her that she had fallen ill and needed to take MC on her birthday. That she was alone in LA. I hope she will soon get to open up the lobster dinner we sent to her for her birthday from Legal Sea Foods.

Mum actually baked another cake to cut for Mei Poh over skype but we were not able to get her on skype because of her busy work. Mama went to proceed to cut up the cake and put it in the fridge. She said Mei Poh can cut cake when she comes home in July.

On 14th I went out for dinner with Elianna and Shelby. I am not as close to them as the two of them are to each other, but duh. Nonetheless we 3 haven�t met up in a long time and took this chance to see each other. The katsu was good.

On 15th lunch time I went to meet Seng Yen, Lynn and Ming Fatt at tcc Clarke Quay. Good old friends and we talked for so long and laughed a lot. Lynn tried to grill us on why we 3 were still single, and we tried to grill her on her relationship haha. And other funny non-relationship stuff. Every time I am with them I feel totally myself and I feel young again. Almost like we were back in school together in uniform being muggers or slackers, funny and cheeky. I <3 you guys.

15th Dinner was the first time we went to Godma Jurong�s house for their regular gathering dinner with no special reason to (eg. CNY, someone�s birthday). Wow I never expected so many people to be there nor what kind of food would be served.

And finally on the 16th I could stay home and eat home cooked food!

It wasn�t a big bang birthday celebration but it got the most important thing: the people who love me and whom I love. That made it great.

Love,
sotongball

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!