{Friday, Oct. 17, 2008}
Rookie Challenge

It's been quite a long time since I've been here. If Jason's reading this, happy birthday to you once more.

On Sunday I did my first time as AVA helper in church. I was enlisted... I filled up a form after the service called for more volunteers. I thought nothing happened until one month later I received a call from the person in charge. ok lor, i try out. I did the powerpoint control, and I was too slow to click in time and got confused a bit. Funny thing is that I'm usually a kan cheong person. I didn't touch audio cos I have no experience in that. Anyway, I don't know if I want to do next week after MP and I had a tiff over it. Alternate?

Tuesday I attended fencing and ran 1.6km for warm up. I think I'm the most unfit in the cca. I take the longest time to complete, and come back all flushed(tomato face) and all tired out while the others aren't. Long-distance has always been the most difficult thing for me in NAPFA. Then it was free fencing so we did fencing with the wires. I'm behind the others after missing so many practices till the Thursday last week (we did dry fencing(not wired up) because it was also free fencing and we didn't want to wait for our turn to use the wire system. (I've no idea what the wire system is called)) They learned how to parry-repose in the other directions and disengage. I wanted to lunge at this opponent, but whenever i tried to poke, his blade would block mine, in all directions! I feel lousy dumb. I haven't been good at anything I've tried. All my CCAs I've been an untalented one. Acting, photography, Girl Guides (that concerns to testwork, which i was forced to do. marching I was good, very "disciplined".), cheerleading (the only thing I can lay claim to is being able to do a scorpion and learn round-off despite NOT being a former gymnast(and not a guy).) I'm not pretty, my academics may be good but there are so many people (of my age group) who are better than me at what I am supposed to be good at. I'm trying to keep up with the maths and physics which I did very badly for. In JC, 3/4 of the class did better than me. (but then again, my class is the smartest class in the school filled with hardworking geniuses who are my friends^^ .) haizz. I haven't found my talent yet, if you believe we should find out what our talents are. If being talented in something is defined as being good in something that few others are good at, that majority of your compatriots are not good at, I guess, the only talent I have is being my noisy, not think before I talk, talk too much, generally understanding and helpful, and disciplinary-rigid-stick-to-my-values self. (if you give an excuse and bend once to your temptations to sin, you will easily do it again.)

Thursday was Rookie Challenge (day one because we didn't manage to finish it. It will be continued on Tuesday.) I am quite very the happy I won 2/5 matches because I lost every match but one till the last one when I finally learned to play a bit of mind games with the other fencer. (I sound sadistic.) I was surprised I wasn't one of the 3 who were eliminated before the direct elimination round. And quite stunned. I was ranked 12/19 (before elimination) and I had to fence in the 3rd bout. (so soon?) They rank us according to the number of wins in the pool stage (the 6 of us rookie girls were in our own pool sans somebody more experienced who was put with the boys, and we played round-robin within the pool.), and by the point difference as well. For pool stage, the fencer who reached 5 points first won the bout. The 1st ranked would fence with the 16th ranked, the 2nd with the 15th and so on (I don't know why. I asked the law student and we discussed a bit.) The bouts in this round would be up to 10 points. And I don't know what the score was but I tried playing mind games against my opponent, who was from my pool, but her parry-repose is very good that I found it hard to poke her. I only remember the direct lunge at her when I took her by surprise, but she learned and became even more defensive. I have the bruises from the event, but it was fun, and now I don't have to think so competitively and, I'm sorry I've been so "evil" and competitive in my behaviour.

Today I could wake up late since there's no physics tutorial (yesh! no difficult questions to solve.) I uploaded photos from the rookie challenge.

Today I also had the 2nd exco meeting. I have to do work now and the deadline is soon.

School hasn't been exciting as it was in JC, but why do I keep comparing when the situations are so different? In JC, we saw our classmates everyday, we ate together, went around and sat in the CC together, we queued up for morning assembly together. Now, my JC friends are separated quite a bit, thankfully some are still with me, but I only see them during lecture and lunch once a week. My new tutorial group we see each other only during tutorials and sometimes out of it like lunch once in a while but it's only some of us. I got one who takes a bus with me, so we go home together after tutorial. Thankfully, I also have friends from OG. In no particular order: JM,Serene,SXmiao,the chem engin girls. Well, that's about all the girls? no, cannot be... I can't think of anymore but we girls are good friends with each other. :)

I miss the feeling of laughter and smiles all around.

oh yes, I found a way to write, compile and execute C code without going on sunfire. The codeblocks software is on IVLE.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!