{Sunday, Jan. 18, 2015}
Update of my Post-Op recovery

I think some of you are curious how I am after surgery. I am pleased to update you that the surgery was successful and I am fine. I have long been home and the post-op bleeding has reduced a lot to the point I do not need the cotton gauze bolster under my nose anymore. I feel almost normal, but I guess the doctor gave me 14 days long hospitalisation leave so as to make me stay home and heal up all the surgical wounds properly, and not go out to catch germs from others. No, there is no pain.

The surgeon sucked out this huge collection of pus about 2cm diameter inside my right cheek sinus. It had been accumulating for years. It was first detected (when it was smaller) more than 3 years ago when I was still in uni. Now the lump had grown and my whole right sinus was infected. It should have been black (= void) in the CT scan but it was white. Good riddance!

The surgeon also noted that my septum's deviation was not as bad as first thought, so he did not carry out the septioplasty (yay). He is the kind that does not do more than is necessary. He trimmed my turbinates to enlargen my nose passage. My nose passage was narrow. Now I breathe easier than before. Is this what normal breathing is supposed to be?

I have been given Zinnat antibiotics and 2 painkillers (including one named panadeine = pandol + codeine). I also go back to the ENT clinic on a "logarithmic" scale - at the beginning more often, but towards the end at greater intervals - to clean up the nose passage which would promote healing and reduce the chances of infection.

I have also been given this thing called "Sinugator". It is supposed to irrigate my sinuses. It looks like an electric toothbrush. I am supposed to squirt saline water up one nostril, until the sodium chloride solution flows out the other. I also have to open my mouth and keep breathing from it, because water can also exit from the mouth. Breathing also prevents the "jump into swimming pool too fast headache". It looks gross, but it is effective in clearing out the blood clots inside my deep nose. I see dark, almost black, blood coming out - which means the old blood clots are coming out.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!