{Friday, Feb. 01, 2008}
Relief teaching, 4e2 reunion, daddy's birthday.

ok, back to the story.

So Nasa and fiona stood on their chairs and declared to the restaurant "Today is our Birthday!" while we cheered and laughed away. The staff gave the two of them sparklers, fish n co practice. We sang a birthday song for them and cheered!!!!!! Then the staff did the fish and co cheer, which we interrupted and prevented them from doing it cos we sang the song first. The staff are able to tell who are faking their birthdays and who are real birthday people. Haha. Other tables also pretended their birthdays.

Since Nasarath and Fiona had no birthday cake, as a class, we bought for them that tiny $5 new york cheesecake for them to share. The staff helped to put one candle onto it. hahaha.

In the end, I had a good time, after I had people sit on both sides of me, especially talkative ones, so I slowly open up instead of being lonely.

I have uploaded photos on facebook, I would upload onto photobucket once I have compressed them, or else the file would be too big.

The next day I went to do my braces. The orthodontist put a lot of whisker wire so that she can push the teeth in faster. It made my teeth hurt that I was restricted to soft food for a long time. Thank goodness now I am fine. I was so sad when I couldn't eat my favourite foods and had to eat porridge. Sure way to lose weight.

MP accompanied me so that the orthodontist could check her retainers. They are so dirty. The tartar had built up on it because she had let the saliva dry on it.

After that, the 2 of us went down to buy coins for Chinese New Year at Starhub centre. After which, we had a late lunch at Waraku, which by then had nearly emptied out. We were SO HUNGRY after being denied food cos the prices of the shops in the shopping centre we were at earlier were so expensive and they were so crowded. It was a Japanese restaurant that I've never tried before. I had a hokkaido udon which was udon with miso in the soup and seafood such as jap oyster, a crab claw (real crab but quite skinny), salmon, one shiitake mushroom and some enoki mushroom. Really delicious and I am suprised I didn't have problem eating the food except for the shiitake mushroom. MP had this giant tempura with cold soba set. wah. And we shared a matcha icecream which was encased in 2 flower-shaped cup (not flat) wafers. yummy. The price range is like about that of Ichiban Boshi or maybe $1 more, making it affordable. yum.

We then walked over to Plaza Sing cos the coin shop had nothing appropriate for a 12 yr old girl. So we got a little soft toy turtle that has a smaller one on top of it from action city. so cute! cuter than the square blocks with the cute smiles or the octopuses.

While walking to the MRT Station, we encountered upon a fish shop where the starhub used to be. So cute the fish! I took photos of them.

On tuesday, I went to relief teach at my alma matter, my primary school. I was in charge of a P1 class. Let's just say it was a very interesting experience that I did not expect. I was hoping to get a relief teaching stint but not with P1s, but it's not too bad lah. I had to talk very loudly to get their attention, they keep coming up to me to ask questions, I didn't know the worksheets were torn out so wasted time, haha.........(sarcastic laughter). And I might have another offer to teach again, a one month stint. anyway, this morning they called again, but since I was going to work I couldn't make it. I tried calling my workplace to see if I could get the day off but no one answered. It was for invigilating P6s.

After having to speak so loudly until it became theatre voice. My voice changed: I heard the voice come from outside of me and not from through my skull to the ears. I was stunned at myself. I sounded like MP too. After that, I stopped myself from talking like that and everything was back to normal.

The canteen tables haven't changed since the time I was a student there. I am now though too tall, legs too long to put my feet on the foot rest like I used to do. The fishball noodles stall (by the way, all the stalls changed) sold the wide kway teow type, and the taste and the look reminded me of what I ate in primary school. so nostalgic. I also met one of my ex-classmates there. Apparently, she and another girl from my cohort are teaching there.

In the staff room, I sat at the absent teacher's cubicle. The cubicle was in a group of 4, all teaching p1, and who were the 2 teachers on the opposite side of the arrangement? My former teachers! The teacher on my right joined after I left. Oh my goodness. And they didn't change much. Including one of the teacher's sister, who is also a teacher there. I overheard a conversation that a teacher(that I didn't know) had with a teacher who I knew sitting in her cubicle ( I don't like the word cubicle because it makes me think of toilet cubicles ), and the younger teacher told the older teacher (i knew the older one) that the first news she got from her class the moment she stepped into the room was "XXX(the sister of the teacher sitting opposite me) wore a skirt yesterday!" Haiyah. Still the same, except she now wears long pants instead of the tiny shorts. She still isn't married either. Goodness, how old is she now? She was around when I was in the school in p1, that's 12 yrs ago. Oh my goodness. She still is quite young, but still isn't married? We all think she's the type who can get boyfriend (cos she's a slim tall PE teacher) but no boyfriend. Fortunately, the older sister is married. Her older sister must be very used to the "she wore a skirt!" issue that she must be thinking "she's always like that."

In fact, it was MP's former teacher who called me up for relief teaching. He was the first male teacher ever for the school and has been around for so long, that he even taught my younger cousin.

By the way, I taught English and Maths, prepositions and how to do a test (the latter never got internalised cos it's their first maths test ever. the rules are not known to them, so they kept coming up to me to ask, and they were discussing how to do. worse still, there weren't enough worksheets.) But there were good students so that prevented my day from being destroyed.

After primary school, I rushed down to my secondary school to do invigilation for the common test for sec3. There were not enough parents to invigilate at the last minute. The teacher helped to distribute the papers before she left and asked me "you look familiar." I told her "ya." I don't really like her. She was my art teacher in sec2, but she's not evil enough to get into the "i hate her/him" books, but I will forgive no matter how hard it is to forgive.

Invigilating the students for one hour was easy, providing me with a chance to slow down from the hecticness of earlier, just make sure that no one cheats. These students were more mature and knew the rules and how to behave, and they did abide to the rules on "how to take an exam". I don't like the changes to the uniform though. Seriously, the old uniform was more practical.

Mum after which picked me up and we went to the nearby supermarket to do shopping. I grew up at that supermarket, having visited it since I was kindergarten/primary school. It was nice to be back there, though the layout has changed and isn't as nice as last time. Whattaday.

On wednesday, we went out to dinner at the Cathay to celebrate Daddy's birthday in advance because his good friend would be in Singapore that night, for he would fly off to Dubai the next day. The food at the Cathay is really good, better than Prima's (don't count the delicious scallop with egg white and one egg yolk and the peking duck. that one is incomparable. I like my scallop with egg white!) However, some dishes were too spicy so I couldn't relish them to my heart's desire. I even ate the sago and some mango liquid in the sago mango pomelo dessert. I don't love mango and I found the pomelo unfavourably sour, but the sago is sweet. I like to eat sago in gula melaka. Prawns, sharkfin soup cooked with shark cartilage till the soup was white but very delicious, and many other things. Because it was a weekday evening, the restaurant was quite empty, which was fine for us, especially since we couldn't get a room.

Yesterday was daddy's birthday so mum baked him a cake which MT decorated while he was out at night fetching MP while we were home. We took photo and cut cake, the fastest cake ceremony ever, with the fast birthday song. I had the cake for breakfast too. It was a pleasant tasting cake. Mum's a good baker.

So far, in my job, I walk out to buy food, today I was determined not to buy chicken rice, so i got porridge. The downside to the job is the lunch issue, but other than that, I'm blessed because I get a good pay, good location, not overworked until I have to bring work home, internet access (though not full), friendly people (not cold and alone). Oh ya, the other downside is that I have to take 1 hour to travel home. And now I'm so free I can finish off my blogpost. Not enough work to do.

Ah yes, and yesterday I tried bringing a biology textbook (km's) to learn, but too heavy. also, adult transport is so expensive! it is over $1.50 to go home by bus, and by MRT it's over $2!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!