{Sunday, Jun. 23, 2013}
24th Birthday

Dear Diary,

I turned 24 this year. I am now 2 dozen years old, 3 x 8. It is the snake year so I have completed a 2nd cycle and come back to my year. Wow. Now I am considered a full adult, no longer a �young adult�, even though I still consider myself a young kid forever 18 (honestly people do think I am still in JC).

It is quite a landmark.

My body has turned stiffer and I must stretch properly before I exercise, given that working life is a lot more sedentary than campus life. I have learned more about myself and it is clearer to me what I prefer and don�t like (which means it is probably easier for people to buy presents for me, for once).

Naturally given my age, my grandma and my other relatives got a bit concerned about my status. It is the same for a number of my JC classmates. Our class is way too smart, we joke. I honestly don�t know why so many of us are still evergreen � we are all very fine people: down to earth, honest and good natured.

Initially I felt worried and dreaded my approaching 24th birthday. I sensed that I was at the edge of a cliff and could fall into depression again. (It was never diagnosed, but I think I went through depression the last time for the same reason.) But this time I seized myself and thought through rationally. There is honestly nothing wrong with being evergreen at 24. Furthermore, God has His plans (which He STILL hasn�t revealed to me despite me asking him several times). There is NOTHING wrong with me. I am NOT a failure because I am evergreen at 24. I do not have to be desperate and suddenly change my attitudes to try to snag a guy. I don�t even have to snag a guy or try to.

I am learning to love myself for who I am flaws and all. I am lucky that I have a healthy figure, so that is one less thing to worry about. I know my headstrong blunt (and lately pessimistic/realistic) character is not the easiest to deal with, but I am continually praying to God to fix me. And I am going to be comfortable with my height and not blame it anymore as the reason for being evergreen. I am not going to blame myself for being evergreen.

I will wear what I want to wear. I will be pretty or sloppy when I want to be. If I want wear make-up, I will. If I don�t want to, then I won�t. I will say what I want to say because I say what I mean and mean what I say.

I am going to be fully comfortable with myself to let myself enjoy life to the fullest. Jesus said, �Love others as you love yourself.� Mum told me, �It starts with loving yourself first�. I will.

I will trust God that He will take care of me in His plans and I will savour whatever He wants me to live through.

This is my manifesto.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!