{Friday, Jan. 25, 2008}
my past few days since starting work.

Tuesday was quite a boring day. Fortunately, mum could bring me home since she was nearby, so i didn't have to take a crowded bus home.

Wednesday was more interesting, cos I got an MC after seeing the doc during lunch. I am still sick, a slightly inflammed throat (only down the middle portion of it) and hence a little bit of phlegm which is very difficult to cough out, giving me this raspy hazy kind of voice. have to clear me throat once in a while. doctor gave me 2 days mc for wed and thu, and denzen for inflammation and dhacodine for cough, which acts on the top part of the throat. nv had cough medicine that acted in that way before. most of the time, the dhasedyl that i take is a medicine that narrows the windpipe to suppress coughing. i think this one doesn't, so good lah.

the aircon here is very cold and dry. i'm sitting under the draft of it and wearing a jacket. I can feel that the air entering my nostrils are so dry there's no mucus and my head is beginning to hurt.... time to drink water.

ahh.. so much better to feel undehydrated. that's why i drink a lot of water and carry a large water bottle. i don't understand how some people go through their day without even taking a sip of water from their tiny bottle, if they have a bottle.

so i worked for half a day on wed.:D submitted my mc and went back to office to cover my colleague who was out for lunch, which is basically handling phone calls and customers if they walked in. I found it quite relaxing being alone for that period. oh, and i finished up my lunch in the office, boneless chicken rice from toa payoh ave 4, which is apparently the stall which invented that dish (serving the chicken boneless). yummy. my colleague had already went for lunch because i came back late. she had taken the keys with her so i couldn't collect money for the school fees. so, nvm lah.

went back home via taxi then after read a bit of newspaper, went to change clothes and knocked off. i've not been getting enough sleep at night for the past few weeks, so it was very delightful to have an afternoon nap, which i've been missing for a long time. i'll continue after lunch. :D

I had lunch at the office. Wanted go have lunch with this friend then get back to the office in time, but she didn't know the way to the mrt, she had been taking bus, so i walked her to the mrt, then bought food back. Now i know not to buy the fishball noodles from that stall though it's the more popular one cos they give in plastic bag, charge 20cents for the box and give only chopsticks, no spoon. and the cost without the box is $2.50! I'd rather buy and eat the boneless chicken rice again for $2.

Now, to continue my story. After having a good rest, I watch TV. The episode was quite climatic, compared to the one yesterday which had so many events that it becomes disorienting, because the characters themselves are emotionally tangled up themselves.

Yesterday I went to NUS with Shelby and her friends Janice and WL. WL is a medical student there and he showed us around. I already had my leave on thursday approved before i got my MC. It was my third day of illness when i got my MC.

WL brought us around. I find that he is respectful and gentlemanly, always holding the door for us and making sure we're altogether (i tend to leave ppl behind and walk ahead), and tolerating all our noise and nonsense. Where can you find a guy who would go in front and hold the door for you? (haha, i think some girls who want doctor husbands would be eye-ing him now, but i don't know if he's attached, but i've no interest in BGR. haha)

The Raffles Museum of biodiversity was a dead zoo. It's basically exhibits of preserved animals. seriously. it's disgusting, yet fascinating. The exhibits cannot be touched because the chemicals used to preserve them are poisonous. The leopard seem alot smaller than what i seen in the zoo, and there's a preserved banded leaf monkey too. It's so rare, estimated 30 left in the WORLD. It's endemic, mean found only, to Singpore.

Medicine students often have their lectures in the morning, starting at 9.30am, so they're the first in school i guess, whereas some other lectures for other courses are in the afternoon with 5 hour breaks in between, depending on the modules selected. And the medical students spend a lot of time studying apparently. I notice that in the lecture theatre, they look like any other people, not all smart looking as what you expect of smart brainy students, i'm talking the clothes here, cos some come in oversized tees (or maybe that's only one and tiny shorts and flip-flops. I saw that person playing on facebook during lecture. I'm suprised, cos as a medical student, I expect her to be more disciplined, or else, how can the patients trust her?) Their clothing is just t-shirt and shorts or jeans, and the way they talk in between lectures is like any normal teenager, and they bring in food and drink into the theatre when there is a big sign that says they cannot. harhar.

I also noticed that the water coolers are not the metal type we normally see. Rather, they bear more resemblance to office water coolers: with white plastic casings.

On the advice of WL, who says that the medicine faculty's canteen is the worst in the uni and engineering fac is the best, we took a bus to the engineering faculty, (or "engine" as they like to call them). Sure enough, the food was good. My fishball noodles (yes, that again) was only $1.50!!!! and the fishballs didn't have chemical taste, and the portion was decent, unlike Janice's spaghetti.

There was a bazaar that was being held at the atrium under the central library. There was a milo truck which we had a cup of milo each from (haha!) before lunch and food stalls and other things being sold and exhibited too by CCAs. There was this cold yoghurt thing for $2.50 where the stall holder blends the fruts chosen into the yoghurt. It looked nice but I didn't try cos I was sick and I wanted to save money.

Later, I went to see WR and Cicilia, cos Cici was back in Singapore for a very short while, flying out this afternoon. We walked around seeing the kino bookstore and sitting down at a bench to play with Cici's Nintendo DS. WR played with a gameboy for the first time! We played the first case on Phoenix Wright, a lawyer game where we play as the titular character who is a lawyer. So got cross examination, where we can say the word "objection" into the microphone to point out the holes in the other person's case. After that, Cicilia showed us her Nintendog, a daschund named Kiki, so cute lah! can play with it, feed it, water it, bathe it. Cici took Kiki out for a walk. First had to plan the route, must cover at least one pee/poo spot, represented by a dot along the path route we highlight using the brush, then got the ? mark boxes on the route too, which is where an event occurs, such as a present the dog finds or meet another dog. And if the dog poos, just tap on the poo and it goes into the poo bag. done. voila. so clean. So cute too! I just hope they will come up with a Shetland Sheepdog version. But the animation will be difficult cos of all the hair.

I would really like to try out relief teaching, and the opportunity is now with the teachers in my pri sch falling ill, so my mum and MP had to fill in for them. I can't cos I'm bound to this job, and that i'm still sick so i don't want to infect the children. Apparently, when one of the staff return next week, i'll have more things to do. Maybe after one month, after I get my CPF, as mum wants so that the gov can start topping up over the years, I'll change job, cos I'm not in this for the money but for the experience. :D I hope tonight will be fun, looking forward to seeing my friends again!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!