{Sunday, Aug. 31, 2008}
Fencing and RSAF OH08

a note on the previous entry. Ya, after evaluating the most recent lecture, the Indian lecturer doesn't listen to how he sounds like in the microphone. Too soft or too mumbled or dunno what that we don't listen to him sometimes. It can get boring.

anyway, on thursday i went for Fencing Appreciation Course. Just try out lah. Met a friend's friend WL. here's a small essay i wrote after the thing. I'm not gonna give the additional commentary now cos it's quite late. MP just started bathing at this unearthly hour of 1.21am .

I just finished fencing appreciation course (ok, it was 10+ minutes ago). It was tiring and fun! It is very warm inside the suit.
I paid $15 for this session cos the coach taught us some of the basics. The coach apparently is the no.1 player in Singapore and he�s a national player. We learned footwork followed by how to handle the foil, which was one of the 3 weapons in fencing. The other 2 are the epee and the sabre. Foil is the lightest and hence is used for training. Footwork apparently is also the main basic of fencing, not how to handle the sword. The arms stay quite still, only extending when lunging in for the attack. It�s the legs that move the player forwards and backwards.
Footwork is a bit tricky for me but I�m getting the hang of moving backwards and lunging. Moving forwards isn�t much of a problem.
Then have to learn to handle the foil. I had been holding it wrongly for most of the session until the part where we went one-on-one full suit and the wires thingy.
Mum should be near now. She�s coming to pick me so I am fortunate not to spend a long journey home on my own in the dark. I don�t like that, you see.
�On guard� is the first pose we learn, the pose we stand at before we fence. Then forwards backwards then lunge. Then how to �parry�, special move for the foil which deflects the opponent�s foil from poking the target area(the body)(the epee�s target is the whole body and it�s a poking weapon too, and the sabre is waist up, just whack, and that makes it a quick and more difficult fight) then how to repose, which is to poke after to parry. Comments for me after the match, I was aggressive (which was scary), but i blindly attack and hence miss a lot.
I can�t say really much anymore. Charging up my laptop on school supply while i have the chance(heehee). All i can tell you, as with any other physical activity club, or basically any cca that isn�t gotta do with homework (i�ve no talent what), it�s fun and I need to practice. ;)

today I went to RSAF Open House (OH08) with the militarist YH, whom only recently learnt how to spell her name properly. It was quite fun! I enjoyed watching the aerial and defence display as well as the arming demonstration. I borrowed my father's DSLR and the pics are uploaded onto facebook already, and those are less than half of all the 124 pics i took. I was supposed to be there before 9am to avoid the crowds but I woke up when the alarm clock rang and put it down and eventually turned it off thinking i would sleep only a short while more (I stupidly fell for it again), and woke up at 8.45am. Ahh! By then I had gained enough energy to thrash my pillow a bit in fustration. I arrived just after the show started but caught somethings along the way while walking to find YH who was waiting for me already in the grandstand.

We weren't successful in the lucky draw for the chance to go on a joy ride in the chinooks and other helicopters. so sad. well, try next year. next year should also go earlier, wake up earlier and hence have shorter queue to sit in the cockpits, alternatively I could go very late in the afternoon.

we wanted to buy t-shirts but the nice one was quite expensive and the cheaper ones weren't as nice. I bought a collar pin and got a free poster from boeing and a free keychain tag from the information counter. the poster would most likely be decorating a wall in YH's room.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!