{Saturday, Jan. 03, 2009}
2008


2008

I earned, I learned.
I lost one, I gained a few more.
Tried more new things, went on adventures - some still in progress.
More stories to tell, but what's there to say?

Wished for many things, and got some of them.
Still afloat, learning to be a lifebuoy for others to cling onto.
What's the meaning of family and friendship?
I'm still learning and finding the answer.

I've grown - heavier and wiser, older and more mature.
Shouldering more responsibilities, more burdens.
Learning to let go; holding on to what I can.
Others are growing freer too; don't wanna fight.

Put in the effort, seize the opportunities.
I'm empowered to make my life great.
Be courageous. Chances are, it will turn out great.
I don't have to follow the world.

God comes to the rescue.
In all the inner-turmoil, He anchors me.
Whatever happens, I'll be all right.
I want to love others like He loves me, that others will know He loves them too.

This poetry sums up my 2008. It also shows that I'm a lousy poet who sees poetry as just phrases lumped together, and I can't rhyme.

Now I shall explain the poem. I would like to let you know that the first part I thought of much earlier and hence it's more coherent and better.

I earned, I learned.
I worked a proper job for the first time. I also started university. The "learned" also refers to the many life's lessons, like how hard it is to earn money if you don't have a diploma yet. Many life's lessons. 2008 has been a dramatic year, and I say sometimes "I don't want the drama." But one point of time, I prayed for smooth-sailing days, and I actually got no dramatic days, but they were quite boring. I felt that I didn't take away much or make the most of the day.

I lost one, I gained a few more.
My grandmother passed away on Easter Sunday early morning, 23 March 2008. I have made many more friends this year, one from my age group at my workplace, one an old SMSS friend who I began to have more conversations with. She was a good acquaintance who I know now I can trust, and it's a wonderful thing she's Christian too. I also have my OG people, especially the girls, some of my tutorial group people (mostly it's the girls) and the fencing people. =D

Tried more new things, went on adventures
I tried many new things this year, like inline skating lesson, pears(I don't really like), non-alcoholic beer (yuck), alcoholic chocolate (yuck), brandy butter and brandy syrup (yuck as well)[you get the point? I don't like the smell and taste of alcohol.], a drop of alcohol. Fencing is also something I am new to. I am not much of a sports person, though I wished I had more ability. Also joined fencing exco, first time ever i'm in an exco. I also learnt driving and got my license on the 2nd try. I also went overseas on holiday, to Sydney (very fun), Bangkok (very crowded, don't like the vibes), Melaka (too touristy). I've got wanderlust. This most recent year end holidays, I have been bound to Singapore, so I decided to explore Singapore a bit more deeper, so I had fun with my friends. Pippi also came over and I took her around to visit places from her childhood here. I also had my first fencing competition, and also most recently we hosted the NUS fencing Challenge. No more school uniforms, riding a car driven by a friend in Singapore (the first time I rode in a car driven by a friend was in Adelaide by Pippi). Moved back to the home I grew up in.
I say "still in progress", for I'm still in fencing, still in university. But with all these stories, who do I tell them to? I have no reason to share them, not that I don't enjoy sharing it, but will anyone want to listen? And how do I begin?

Wished for many things, got some of them
I am fortunate to say that I did well for my A levels. Not super stellar, but good nonetheless. I also did not too badly for my first semester's exams. I got A- for CS1101C (programming methodology), B for MA1505(mathematics I) and MLE1101(Introductory Materials Science and Engineering), and B- for PC1431(Physics IE) and EG1108 (Electrical Engineering). My CAP is 3.53 , which means I qualify academically for overseas programmes. I am sure God blessed me with many other things to, that I am glad to have, though I can't recall right now.

to be continued.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!