{Wednesday, Apr. 08, 2009}
level 3000 FRENCH? || That's what friends are for, i guess.

I am in need to blog, desperately.

I just submitted the application form for NUS French Language Immersion Award. Now, I leave it in God's hands. I know He has a plan for me, plans to prosper me. Hence, if this is His plan, He will open and close the doors accordingly.

Before that, Mum put me in contact with a prof in charge of the french DDP. He gave me sound advice and shared with me his experiences. The students on the DDP have to take french up to level 5 before leaving after year 2 to spend 3 years there. So they have to take those modules on top of their allocated modules.

For this LPP/SEP, the 4 french modules (2 level 1000, 1 level 2000 and one level 3 if i am not wrong) would be under UEM, so it is not an extra burden. (but alas, 4 out of 6 UEM would be eaten up, so must use the 2 remaining wisely!) And UEMs are there so that they allow us to focus into the area of our choice, he correctly pointed out.

And he added that for a really worth it (or some other phrase) experience on SEP, it's best to go to a non-english speaking country because of more cultural crossings. If I were to go to an english-speaking country, there is still familiarity with the culture i.e. not as much change from home culture as compared to the former.

Another point that I pointed out correctly was that competition for english-speaking countries is high. He explained that CAP and CCA is the first filter for selecting students to SEP, and my CAP just qualifies me for SEP, and I don't have stellar CCA record (i'm not captain nor chairperson though i am on committees).

french and german engineering is one of the best in europe (and in the world too in my opinion).

the university INSA-LYON is a nice place, located near the alps (now daddy will get worried. he scared i will chill off.) good uni too. he visited there on one trip he made to visit the DDP students (his team visits once every two years).

finally, French won't be a waste depending on your job. He said quite a number of the students get jobs in government agencies with european links such as DSTA or EDB, or MNCs with european links. Maybe it would be an advantage for me in civil engineering. I want to do be an engineer and not be desk-bound. Civil engineering is generally an international profession. And anyway, it is likely most of us CVE ppl will get a job overseas since there aren't that many in Sg.

ok, i think that's all for that matter. now onto something more of poignant everyday moments.

Yesterday, there were only 8 of us at fencing. Small group. For the first time, I fenced YL, and as predicted, I had received some coaching from him during the bout because my fencing is lan/lousy. He easily won me, though I was surprised I could score on him the first few points (maybe he was giving chance). Yes, I need to practice drills. ARM BEFORE BODY. extend arm first before lunge. Not only that, my lunge must practice. So after that, I did some poking at the boards, which I haven't done for quite some time.

Before that, I fenced Ivan epee. I was rushing too much and did sabre-like moves. WRONG! failed. but still, fun. and Ivan has improved. Not as easy to score on him. POINT CONTROL SEVERELY NEEDS IMPROVEMENT.

The first person or second I fenced was Celeste. We just fenced for fun, no points counted. Just fence until we tired. So that was about 15-20 points one side? more than the regular bout. parry! stop counter-attacking, and must vary moves. i.e. stop trying to catch the blade before going in. my disengage is better though.

I presided ivan vs khai epee, yl vs celeste foil and jason vs khai foil(partly). presiding is fun. I want to learn the DT and take the exams, but more importantly, learn first so that I know all the moves and rules and how to do the hand-signalling properly. i can read them, but can't signal properly. and yes, OPEN MY EYES. time to get eye-mo.

Supper. Ivan wanted macs cos it was in school. YL doesn't like eating in school. But we wanted everyone to eat together. So, I decided. Some people were "anything", YJ would join if it were macs or clementi, Ivan in the end didn't mind going out either and could go home easily from clementi, so I decided clementi. I gave YL a chance, since he would be graduating in 2 weeks and then be out of the country for 6 weeks. Let him enjoy his Singaporean food for a while first. YL arranged to give Khai a lift to the bus stop after. These were one of those many moments (usually out of training but sometimes during) that one cannot capture on camera to preserve in image. It has to be retained in memory. The photographer realises and accepts the limitations and appreciates the world around her. Since it was a small group of 6 of us, it was one conversation flowing, not several with some floating in between. I always enjoy suppers. :)

During the car ride back, we wondered why YL didn't send us before Khai. YL was going back to school too. !! . He needed the software on the school computer for his FYP. Then he asked Jason if he had a jacket. With the dirty clothes. Hearing that he was asking for a jacket, I volunteered my sweater. XL. Hopefully it would fit his wide shoulders. He asked if it was clean. "i wear only during lectures like that," i answered.

At the car park I walked off a bit ahead, thinking of getting the sweater and coming back, when I turned around to check on them (Jason was behind) and I see YL walking out with him, and then I finally got the point he was borrowing my sweater and not Jason's. Along the way, he asked when I needed it or something because I replied "I'm fine one lah, it's just cosy." So he followed me to my doorstep, and I went in to get my jacket. Surprisingly, my prediction that you-know-who was asleep, was wrong. She wasn't there. So I opened the door and showed him my room (he's the first of the fencers to see my room. not even Jason has seen it. wonder why.) I suggested on top of his suggestion he clip it onto the clothes line instead of hanging it on the door handle when he returns it if I am not in.

This morning, before or just at 7am, I was returning from the toilet when I saw a male figure. It's odd because I usually don't see anybody awake at this time. (i think i'm the only one who wakes up before 7am, at 6.30am unless i laze in a bit more.) Then that figure was gesturing something and approached me. Only when he was closer did I realise it was YL. "I was just about to sms you," he said, as we had agreed to do when he returned the jacket, and I turned and saw the sweater on the clothes line, clipped NOT like clothes on a line would be normally hung to dry (as i had said. i scared ppl will steal my sweater). oh well. I think he said a word of thanks, and i said thanks too and we said bye.

in blur state, when i was in my room did i realise he was wearing the SAME clothes he was in last night. Did he work overnight? I later sent an sms to tell him to get a good rest. last night i also sent a "ask if you need anything else" and "jiayou" message. as usual, no reply. I must be supportive of my friends. It's his FYP. I hope he does well and my sweater served its purpose well and keep him from shivering. That's what friends are for: to help each other. I promise to help all of you my friends as much as I can. Jia you!

p.s. during lecture i realise my sweater is raglan cut, so the shoulder area isn't so structured. So there's a higher chance my jacket could've fit him. I also didn't have to use a towel as I planned to keep myself cosy warm during lecture. and the jacket had a smell..

Final note: no BGR matters involved here. It would be the same story if it were a girl.

Oh, I saw Freddy for the first time in hall today. He moved out already but came to pass something to his friend.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!