{Saturday, Jan. 09, 2010}
Eight of January, Twenty Ten. Trip to neighbourhood mall and the problem of my fencing, and Korean guests

Some of the fencers, actually the bunch of them all went to HK (but not all who went HK went) plus Jo I think, are at Butter Factory clubbing now. I did not see Jo when I joined them for supper. The air outside was slightly smoky, not very intense because quite a lot of smoke was blown away by the breeze since we were in the bay area.

Yesterday I popped by the neighbourhood mall to do errands and a bit of a walkabout. I first went to the post office nearby to buy some stamps. At home we do not have enough stamps to post to Japan. And I will not use Mum's stamps which I consider vintage/historic which should be preserved - especially the 10cents fish stamps. Fortunately the queue was very very short and I got my letter for Mizuho posted after it had been sitting on my table for days.

I then walked over to the mall, hoping to deposit my cash. However the cash deposit machine was out of service and the counter queue was very long. The staff manning the enquiry counter was very polite and professional. I like the new uniform too, which has something like a mandarin collar, and a mustard tone on a seemingly woven fabric, which altogether gives a welcoming homely south-east asian image. I like POSB's new image in total.

So walked to the shop selling KOREAN things to check if they sold honey citron tea. They did but it was not that cheap, and they only stocked one brand. I want to ask if Japan sells or if in HK it is cheaper.

On the way down decided to get Yami Yoghurt before going home. Met Ash who I had not seen in 2 years, ever since we graduated from SAJC. He works at that mall selling sport shoes now. So a quick Hi-Bye and home I went.

I rested and packed my bag quickly then left for fencing. I left home early hoping to find the store open so that I could fix my body wire - however I found the store locked. Alan had arrived early and planned to swim but because the pool was being used for water polo, he went running instead. bodybuilding mode. So I sat there and wrote my diary. Heng ah I think no one read my diary that day. It was a great risk leaving it there unguarded when there was a nick there. However I think nick would draw the line at reading something that is so personal to me - he won't go that far that it would be very offensive.

While waiting for the other ppl to come, flo and Yj and some others like Nash came early and we looked at Yj's India photos. Together with Yj's commentary, they provided an eye-opening view of India. It's not just what you see in the tv and detached from you, someone you know has been there and can tell you it IS like that. And yes, we did compare his looks to his parents. I believe that no one can look totally like one parent and bear no resemblance to the other. They usually have at least one facial feature from each parent. So after much staring (yes, he does look more like his father, as everyone says), I managed to find how he resembled his mother. He has his father's thick eyebrows but his mother's eyes.

His photos showed India's winter temperature, the state of tourist sights, off beat sites, the different cities (Jaipur, Agra, Delhi) (he described some places as very very very bad smell until want to puke), the impact of Mughal (who were muslim) and Hindu on India's architecture, and other things which have slipped my mind at this moment.

Khai forgot the store key. Wasted my effort for coming down early. But that wasn't the problem. The problem was that Khai would not be able to go home and back in time, and we would not be able to get out our eqpt! Thankfully they got someone to open the door for us.

distancing

Korean girls joined us for supper.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!