{Tuesday, Dec. 05, 2006}
ICE-SKATING: my return to the ice, after 8 years.

yesterday i went ice-skating with lynn, JH, YS, SW and Shelby.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So Happy! to return to the ice after more than 8 years.

Shelby and I first met up at the novena station and changed train at raffles place interchange to the green line which we took to jurong east interchange. It's faster this way, 36 or 37 minutes, compared to 49 if i took all the way on the red line.

eli couldn't make it, unfortunately.

the rest of us met up at jurong east. we had a cheap and not overly salty jap lunch for $4(teriyakidon) first before going up. as usual i talk more than i eat and didn't finish in the end. Before buying my food, i went to the toilet and saw someone i thought was familiar. It was Lynn! wearing her silver puma jacket (she told me the story of how she had to rush back and forth because she left it at home), and a hairband with 2 crystal crowns on the side as decoration. ice princess. heehee. showed her my new braces. this is my first public appearance with my new teeth.

went up to the rink which wasn't very cold. quite nice the temperature. rented skates and went skating! lynn was having her lesson then. I was the only one who truly ice-skated before! YS had walked on ice before in skates, but never glided, shelby had rollerbladed before (so she was fine). i had to "teach" them 3 how to skate!

they first walked around the rink, holding on to the sides. walking means that the feet is lifted with each step, not dug into the ice. there was 1 section of ice where there was no side to hang on because a portion of the rink was cordoned off with cones for figure skating lessons. i helped them cross to the other side.

when the zamboni was resurfacing the ice, i started sneezing since i had stopped skating and hence stopped generating body heat. i put on my fleece. lightweight and very warm.

when the ice was resurfaced, i immediately went in. the ice was wet, but definitely much smoother. before the zamboni, the ice was very rough, dry and bumpy.

lynn and i tried to do a 2 person spin. it didn't work but it was fun. she also taught me to do forward cross, one-foot glide and wiggle(backward skating). i am now able to do them without much problem. lynn took a video of me doing the wiggle, but i haven't reviewed it yet, and will NOT post it. (you wish to see it, don't u? fat chance.)

YS in the end learnt how to glide. :D:D:D yay! good for you! SW and JH also learnt how to do small-step skating without support. :D:D yay! good for you too!

i didn't take many breaks. i skated for nearly 4 hours. we stopped skating at 4.30pm.

I loved my return to the ice.

Shelby and Lynn forgot their presents. Shelby forgot to bring eli's present to her too. I made sure YS didn't forget hers. JH's one is small and hence fit his bag. i gave the girls the metal trees from ikea, to hang jewellery and donnowhat on. i didn't get a prezzie for SW because i didn't go shopping for her. when i went to ikea, she wasn't expected to come. i will get a prezzie for her and give it to her when school reopens. :)

I went to Jessica's place to give her her present. Jessica wasn't in but her mum was. she gave me water and a chance for me to rest my feet. we chatted as she cooked their dinner, some thing that resembled omelettes. she gave me some to eat since she wanted me to try them. she also gave me kickapoo, which she loves to drink. i stayed until 6.30pm+, spent less than half an hour there. i left the metal trees at her place. later that night, she drove them over to my place. Jessica's mum agreed to jessica and my outing! YAY! jessica passed me the bag of trees and i gave them a box of lindt chocolate, since she was such a good host.

between then, daddy and I delivered fried rice to SAV, or more specifically to the SAS canteen. BRYC camp was at the diocese, and they were using the SAS canteen. there were several other people who delivered an array of food in large quantities. the SAJC band was also having a camp. i heard them practising into the night. I will not blog about my fustrations.

today was cheerleading. i woke up at 10.15am, and practice started at 10am!!!! coach was in thailand. this was a training where we practiced on our own. there was great improvement today. those people who have missed training have a lot to catch up on.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!