{Friday, Dec. 02, 2005}
Last Day of Volunteer Stint at JBP

today was the last day of my work experience/volunteering stint at JBP. Its bittersweet/oxy-moronic. I'm happy because I don't have to travel for one-and-a-half hours home or do the stinking job(weeding) anymore. plus, no more chilli lunches. yipee!

sad thing is that I can't play with the birds anymore. (i do that eventhough i'm not attached to the avian dept.) neither do i get the free panorail rides, get the chance to drive it again or eat discounted food... WWWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!! :'(

today weeded the amphitheatre, again! did a bit then slacked, moan, then watched bird show. my friends from AJC came over. 1 did survey, 3 of them horticulture(weeding) at a different place. there were 3 missing, 1 was survey, 2 were in office. later, the other who was doing survey joined us at show later. after show, we walked over to the hornbills for hornbill chit chat. (yesterday went pelican chit chat. have i mentioned it b4?) petted Kiki. I helped the keeper carry Kiki back to her cage. no scratch marks. the scratches come about by the way the person holds the hornbill. if the person drops the arm, the hornbill gets scared and hence grips tighter. then the person rotates arm since weak. shake, shake, scratches form by those sharp claws. took pics of my friends holding Kiki.

after lunch, slacked at lodge. then returned back to weed a bit more then met up at 2.30pm at the waterfall aviary. the 2 surveyors were with us. I drove the panorail from main station via lory loft to waterfall station. heehee(great grand senior was driving the panorail) they were feeding the starlings, bee-eaters and guineafowl. the 3 were already there. a bee-eater ate from a man's cup perched. this is very lucky because bee-eaters hardly ever perch to feed. when food(worms) were thrown upwards, the bee-eaters would rush in and quickly grab it before they hit the ground. like fireworks.

a bird pooed on my shoulder and on my friend's arm. eww.

later got to feed the birds. starlings perched on my hand and picked at the worms, eating them quickly. I later threw up my remainder to feed the bee-eaters. there were 4 african grey parrots, former pets. one perched on our shoulders, another stuck to the keeper's. She follows him around, very attached parrot. the parrot, the one that sat on my shoulder mainly kept to the boys because we girls had ear studs. that parrot first nibbled my bottletop. took it away. spectacles. took away. ear studs. EEEK! my ear studs! I can't remove them. wish I could. one of the girls didn't want the parrot because earlier, a bird pooed on her. birds don't have bladders.

hung around and learnt more about keeping parrots and the parrot which follows the keeper. the parrot likes him but is scared of him because he grabs the parrot, turns it over and tickles it. The parrot does not like that. one of the boys named the parrot that sits on us Da Hui(big grey) similar to his dear Xiao Hong(small red) the red lory.

I think I drove the monorail back to the main station because great grand senior drove the train.

Mum brought lynette and I home. Yay! much shorter journey. Mum's office had fire drill and hence all the workers went home. Before that, Lynette and I gave cards and a teddy bear to our supervisor.

the bird park volunteer stint has benefited me. it first of all gave me something to do during the holidays. secondly, I made friends. thirdly, know more about human behaviour and how to behave and act around others especially when working with them. I'm not so good at that. Also, I've more exposure to boys, IN a POSITIVE way. Since I have been in an all-girls school for 10 years, I'm not sure about being around boys which will happen when I go to JC next year. so now I'm a bit more comfortable around boys.

My supervisor says that since we enjoy our stint here and are willing to continue (i don't have travel plans as of this moment), she might arrange for another stint for us, and will try to put us in the avian dept. YAY!

so that wraps up my volunteer stint. AJC's will end tomorrow.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!