{Sunday, Nov. 13, 2011}
As a Director

Days to practical exam: 4.

We had 2.5 weeks to work on our practical exam for TS1101E/GEM1003. I, as a director, have never taken on such a role of leadership before, as I have mentioned to you before. I can tell you for sure, though the journey isn�t over, I have learned a lot about steering the ship and managing people. My group mates have differing personalities, some are quiet, some more vocal, some are responsive and take whatever you tell them, some like to work alone independently. So I can�t approach each one the same way when I am discussing with them (or try to at least). Some are online often, some only can be contacted via handphone, so must know which platform to use when.
I do think that I am not just playing the role of director but as producer as well, and secretary somewhat too, keeping everyone updated in the loop, disseminating information etc.

More interestingly is that one of my group mates fell ill with chicken pox so she had to be quarantined. It would not be such a big problem if we could meet up at her home, but the thing is, 2 of my other group mates have never caught chicken pox before. So it was an exercise in managing the group in contingency situations as well. Thank goodness skype and phone has already been invented, as well as other technologies that allow us to communicate without being in each other�s physical presence. I had to manage the situation and keep my friend in the loop till when she came back, especially because she was one of the actors. How can actors rehearse without being in each other�s presence? We somehow did that, but we couldn�t hold out forever. Heng she is now well.

But another of my group mates, one of the 2 uninfected, came down with chicken pox just today -_-�. We have to somehow include her into the practical exam because she can�t come to the theatre that day. And she can�t bring her costumes for the full dress rehearsals or do the makeup. Lucky me, I have been infected already so I can go to her home and pick up the stuff before the rehearsals. Please, people, if you have children, get them infected while they are young! Getting infected at this age carries a lot of opportunity cost.

Part of my role as director is to establish the tone of how we work things. I made a rehearsal schedule and I push my people, not a slave driver, but to accomplish the work early so that closer to the day, it would give more time to perfect things rather than scramble to submit something complete.

I know, there is another group in my larger practical class, they are quite competitive. One member keeps asking me how things are going on, to keep tabs on me. I don�t want to get into the competitive dog-eat-dog bitterness, so I replied vague answers. Let�s not get our hands burnt. I instructed my group members to do the same thing too, should any of the members from any other group ask us this sort of questions. Even if I am a nice person, in such a situation we have to remain secretive. After all, 90% of all the groups are doing Absent Friends, from my rough survey. Probably 9% are doing Mother Courage and Her Children, and a miniscule number are doing Naga Tribe.

It�s amazing, to be given the chance to work with such an amazing script � it is juicy already just from reading it � that has been performed countless times and is considered a classic of English Theatre. It allowed for us to easily find videos and other sources in our research to help construct our idea of the characters and the set and the theme of the play etc.

Thinking about all the work that needed to be done for the play made me feel a bit flustered as I lay in bed hoping to fall asleep, but I prayed to God and gave the practical exam into his hands. I am in piece, because all I need to do is just do my work to my best ability, and leave everything into His hands to make everything else that is uncontrollable fall into place.

I spent the whole day writing the director�s portfolio, which still needs further amendments. What a day that I have not done much other work. I have sorted out mum�s letters, played a lot of mousehunt(finally I have crafted my SS. Huntington II after months of collecting �splintered wood�) and slacked off on facebook in between. I better make my study schedule and stick to it. I have already to give a lot of time to this practical exam and I plan to visit World Orchid Conference and Flower Dome, and watch movie(s).

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!