{Saturday, Aug. 25, 2012}
First Week at Work

Dear Diary,

This week was my first week at work. At a real job, not the temp staff jobs I had before I entered Uni. I am now an engineer in the Infrastructure and Reclamation Department (IRD) of the Building and Infrastructure Group (BIG) of the Housing and Development Board (HDB). As you can see, there are a lot of acronyms involved, and so I have created a list of acronyms used in my work and that list has been growing steadily. @.@ I can help you build homes but I won�t secure you a home, if you are wondering, haha.

I am already beginning to feel a bit overwhelmed with my work, after having slacked around for a long time (since 10th May when I went to USA, so that has been over 3 months). The moment I got my computer up and running emails have been coming in. I have already attended 2 meetings and a boring morning of safety talks. I have been given some work to do, but not much, to ease me into the job. There is some reading to be done to catch up with the stage at which my work is at. Fortunately, HDB has allocated me a mentor and buddy to guide me along. On top of that, I can ask my supervisor whom I am assisting, as well as my fellow colleagues, so things are good in this aspect. The other 2 newbies I met who joined the group haven�t had their computers started up yet, so they are bored with doing nothing. At least I am not in their position.

About 10 people started their work on the same day as me, 21st August 2012, Tuesday. Monday was Hari Raya Puasa�s holiday off-in-lieu. Of which 3 of us went to BIG, of which 2 including me went to IRD. I am the youngest person around, the only fresh grad. The other two have work experience and are a few years older than me, but still younger than 30. One is already a mother to a boy less than a year old, and the other is pregnant. And here I am never ever having had a boyfriend. I do wonder how my future will be like, in this sense.

I went for fencing training in NUS after popping by home to change out, eat something and take my backpack of gear. I reached at 7.30pm and packed up at 9.30pm, diligently getting ready for Daddy to pick me up at 10pm. Daddy was a bit late (I feel bad for making him miss watching the news on TV) and I reached home at 10.45pm. Then I had my dinner and bath etc, only getting into bed at 12midnight. It was too slow of me. I should be in bed by 11.30pm. Next morning I was feeling a bit tired.
To experiment, on Thursday I left immediately after work and went down to NUS straight to pass some files to Pauline. I reached at 6.30pm but without having eaten anything. Dad picked me up at 8pm to go home. But at home I dilly-dallied a bit and so didn�t sleep on time, again. So I was sleepy on Friday morning. I realized that I really need to be diligent on my time, that I must wake up on time, don�t spend too much time in the bathroom or changing, eat my meals quickly and get to the office on time, and when I am home, to not spend too much time slacking around. It is definitely not easy for someone who likes to relax. I can�t get away with it as compared to when I could sleep in lectures.

I am slowly thinking on how to things. I am wont to experiment with training at ABF, reaching there on time and leaving early � paiseh to ask Daddy to pick me up though. Another question is how often to train � once or twice a week? Once a week is easier and gives me time to slack, but to maintain consistency or improve twice a week is the minimum. And still another question hanging around for a long time: foil or ep�e? I trained for 2 months with the ep�e to prepare for HKU100IF, which made my foil messy. Mentally I am still there but my distancing is lousy and my parry-ripostes are going everywhere. All point control has been lost. In ep�e if I miss the arm I can go for the leg or somewhere else further away, but in foil I must control all hits within the lam� area. So is it going to be Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday? I already got myself to ask jiaolian on the possibility of training at ABF. It took me a long time to do that, so one thing down, good.

Tomorrow is going to be a packed day. I am going to Sengkang�s Anchorvale CC early in the morning � 8.30am there! To help Dennis Leong demonstrate fencing. He is short of fencers to demonstrate fencers on the piste. Then in the late afternoon to evening I would be with my CE gang of 5 taking photos in NUS and having dinner with them. I do miss them fondly and look forward to see them again. So hence tonight I am going to church. This is really work hard play hard!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!