{Friday, Nov. 28, 2008}
The Second Half of November

Dinner with the Fencers

For the last training before breaking for exams, training was cancelled, and we all went out for dinner. We took a bus from the bus stop along the AYE on the same side as ITE Dover to Vivocity. We first thought of going to Marche, but the queue was so long. While they were queuing for places in Marche, Joanna and I went with Florence to buy a hamster after her then-current one escaped. We went to Pet Safari, and got a Dwarf hamster male for $10. It�s been named Rocco, but Joanna wanted Florence to change it to another name (that I can�t remember) and the corruption of the 2 names combined ended up with Rock-a-by-baby. However, I think hamster�s name remains as Rocco.

We went back to Marche but they were not there. We had actually told the frontman that they were inside and we went in. No, they were downstairs at Earle Swensen�s. We then all walked out of that shop because it was just TOO expensive at $17+++. Only the rich financial industry people can afford such things. We walked to White Dog Cafe along the same corridor in the other direction. It was much cheaper at under $15. We were seated at a curtained off seating area at the front of the cafe, like the type of place for small groups to sit and have coffee (note the round tables), and because it was at the shopfront, I felt it was like a fishtank exhibit, and I was one of the fish in the aquarium. I ordered a �seafood paradise� (tomato-based)linguine, not spicy. Not bad. I curi some of Joanna�s food after she curi-ed mine, and before that ate a bit of lettuce from Yanli�s plate while waiting. A few of us were helping with the anti-veggie person with the lettuce (and Joanna and I were hungry). Yanli was the only one who had the money to order a set meal (but then again, he�s the oldest amongst all of us). I also tried Jeff�s �creamy salmon� linguine. Not bad either.

I think Yanli bought a cake from the cafe because after we were done eating and had cleared our dishes, they brought in a lighted cake. Jason�s birthday was the day before. So we sung a birthday song and had a slice of cake each. Too sweet for my liking, but it was one of those dense cream cakes type, so to be expected. not too bad.

I found out that I�m the third youngest in the club, after Cheryl and Florence respectively. I�m so used to being the oldest and looking after the people around me (even if they are older than me). I never had the chance to be the baby of the family nor the only child, because I�m the older of a pair of twins, and I am the first-born as well (though technically, you could say that both of us were of one birth, but I don�t know the definition of �birth�, is it per child, or for the entire duration till the womb is empty? I don�t care.).

I was playing with Florence�s hamster, and it pooed on my hand. I didn�t freak out. When I still had chickens at my home, when I was still in primary school, I put a chicken on my shoulder, like how parrots sit on the pirate captain�s shoulder, and it pooed on my back. Ya. Anyway, things don�t really shock me. I am slow to react, and by the time I realise it, the shock factor has worn off a bit. Here�s the process my mind goes through: huh, what happened? Oh that happened. Ok.

It was a fun night out though (: . I went home a happy person.

Exams

Today, 28th November 2008, was the last day of my exams. This was my first exams of my time in NUS. It started on Saturday with Physics. Yes, a Saturday. I did what I could. Monday was double attack: computing C language in the morning, and Maths in the evening (not so bad as for a friend of mine who had two papers just more than an hour apart). Tuesday morning was Materials and today, at 2.30pm, was electrical engineering (circuits). Most of the papers were doable, not as killer as mid-term I feel. As usual, got quite a few blanks for maths, but at least got method marks. And today�s electrical engineering also left some blanks because I really didn�t know how to do them. I was glad I did practice papers for nearly all my papers (materials doesn�t have any good ones) so I got to familiarise myself with some questions and topics, especially for electrical; I studied instrumentation systems, the last topic taught and no tutorial, because the question little question on it that came out was very easy. The question on Thevenin�s equivalent circuit with dependent sources was killer. I anyhow whacked the question on potential because it was either that question or the thevenin�s question, and I already had wasted time on the thevenin�s question. 15 marks for thevenin�s! So difficult. I managed to complete materials. No one can complete computing unless they are very smart and didn�t have to spend time pondering, especially on the description for the last question, or else cannot understand the question. Physics didn�t finish. Oh, I left out quite a bit and it was a difficult paper too. I just hope I pass and get a G.P.A. >3.5 so that I can go on exchange/Joint-Degree Programme.

All I can say, is that I did what I could, and I hope for the best. And,

IT�S OVER! finally I can breathe.

Kitty-Chan... that cat.

Kitty-Chan came over on Monday and is staying over again. On the first night of her stay, she kept disturbing me. She would come onto my bed and walk up and down along the length of the bed, and even behind my pillow along the headboard, and when I open my eyes she�s looking at me, her head 20cm away from me, looking at me. And she was constantly meowing. I got fed-up and I wanted to sleep badly because I had an exam the next morning, and I had difficulty falling asleep. I wanted to go to the sofa in an adjoining room to sleep, but when I opened the door, the cat went out of the door first and sniffed around. Only when she went back into my room, I closed the door on her and finally slept for that 2hours+ on the sofa (it was 3.30am when my incident occurred). She then disturbed MP, and MP woke up at 4am. So both of us became sleep-deprived. The next day, MP realised she wanted someone to change the newspaper in her litterbox. Why didn�t we think of that considering the first night she stayed with us the last time, when she did exactly the same thing?

Anyway, kitty acts manja, meowing for attention, coming for pets. She tries to look cute with the big eyes and innocent look to make us open the door so she can go exploring, but no, we will not concede. Last night, that cat kept meowing and even jumped up on my bed to see if I was awake. She wanted attention and wanted somebody to open the door for her to go exploring. I pretended to be fast asleep, KEEPING MY EYES CLOSED, lying still, slowing my breathing, and turning my position as what a normal person would when sleeping. She checked on me 3 times that night, before finally stopping, but I had to get out of bed after she stopped disturbing me to get a nibble because I had hunger pangs. (It was in the middle of the 1-4am time belt, but not sure which section).

There are a few more incidents with Kitty-chan that I shall not mention here. She is annoying but looks cute.

Christmas Wish-list and holiday plans

So right now it�s the holidays for me. Nearly every day till the 12th of December I will be learning driving in the morning. 12th December would be my driving exam. After which, I would be preparing for a fencing competition I signed up for (it�s apparently the lowest standard of competition I can ever get, so why not give myself some exposure, especially when we are all going to be signed up for a novice�s competition next year?) and for the fencing competition we are hosting. So for December, I won�t be leaving this island. I hope to meet up with Jessica who�s back, and catch her before I miss the chance to again, and maybe Andrea Grace, (but I don�t like shopping along Orchard Road, and I�m saving my money for overseas studies (exchange or JDP)). Anyone else wants to go out with me? I want to visit Bishan Park (and go cycling if I had a bicycle), and have a picnic at Botanic Gardens (maid�s idea), and for my grand plan, cycle at west coast too. And swim.

I know I�m a person who is very difficult to get presents for so here�s my wish-list to give you some ideas. Please note that I�m not serious about wish-lists and this is no exception. You don�t even have to get me anything for Christmas.
- My own digital camera. Please consult me before buying because I�m particular about it. I�m not after the megapixels, but minimum is 6meg; I�m after the quality. Noise control would be good (Sony�s can be quite noisy but it�s still a good camera brand I�ve been using for years.) And program/manual mode where I can control settings like ISO, White Balance, metering. I saw the advert on this Canon camera that had continuous AF tracking and intelligent contrast, and I thought that was a good idea.
- Sunglasses, because I don�t have one. That�s why when I travel to and from school you see me in a cap if it is sunny. I think aviators are cool with the metallic frames, but I don�t think they fit my face. Neither those super-big blingy designer frames. The sporty kinds fit well.
- Food. Milo 3-in-1 powder is good. Can keep in my cupboard for the midnight snacks.
- Lunch or dinner, or even breakfast out together. Practical no? It doesn�t have to be expensive. McDonalds or porridge suits very well.
- A mp3 player.
- Laptop screen and keyboard protector, and laptop skin.
- Converse-style sneakers, or just sneakers.
- A white broad belt
- Love and peace to go around the world and for the violence and protests, those in the news and those not, to stop.
- For everyone to come to know Jesus and realise and accept the fact that they have been saved from death, though they do not know it (ask me for an explanation if you want).
- For my family and friends to be together having a good time.
- For you, my friend (to all my friends and family), to be with me. :)

Come to think of it, better get the ball rolling for the secondary school class gathering.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!