{Saturday, Jul. 15, 2006}
29th Student Council Commendation

Early this wonderfully traffic-jammed up morning, I carried out a transaction. I bought from HK the FiFa World Cup 2002 ball.

I inflated it at 1030pm i think. Finally I got my ball! Now to make sure Lucky doesn't get at it and puncture it, though he's only twice the height of the ball.

After assembly was supposed to be Chinese for half an hour until 9.15am but they didn't have any lesson today, so all of us proceeded to the cafe for 2nd breakfast. I had my usual ice milo. This morning's one at home was diluted again. And Lynn, I
don't drink 4 cups a day. I drink twice, 3 times at the most.

Then it poured. Half-white rain. (you know what i mean by white rain? it's rain where you cannot see beyond it, just white, the most serious rain I can think off, but in HK it will be red rain standard? definitely not black rain.) We clocked out and nearly went out through the side gate but HK suggested we go to the bus stop at the front gate because there was a sheltered walkway for most the route. We went through there, then took out our umbrellas to get there. it rained heavy drops. heavy drizzle or beginning of what is described as rain, not drizzle. My bag was wet, my new bag from Auntie Joyce with the label "Do Not Wash". Oh dear. Never mind. I also dirtied it after dinner with juice.

I saw this bunch of people gather at the end of the walkway, seemingly lost in decision. Do we go out into the rain or not? I borrowed Lynn's, Samantha's and MF's umbrellas and ran over to them but they didn't want it. I hung around and another group appeared. And they used the umbrellas. I'm happy to provide a lending hand to others.

The bus came and a packed bus stop's worth of people boarded, packing the bus to nearly the maximum. The woman in front of Lynn left a space in front of me where no one could reach to sit down. When the bus reached the side gate bus stop, more packed, I saw eli, melo and HP. Our bus was too crowded for anyone to get on. So I waved byebye to eli, muhuhahaha! Her irritated expression. She gotta wait longer for another one. hahahaha. I'm so evil at this point of time.

At Potong Pasir MRT, quite a large number of people got off, including half our class. I told them to meet at City Hall. The other half of us rode to the end at Toa Payoh interchange. I yelled out and waved at Felicia and Elena. When we saw that the train was arriving in 2 minutes, we RAN through the gates down to the platform. The train was packed with only standing space available. YS almost fell when the train started. I told her "Just lean on me lah." At the next station, when the train started, she did and asked "Why you so strong?" haha. I had altered my standing position to lean with the direction of travel, against the force that causes us to lean backwards. Well, my dear friends who read this, if you need somebody to lean on, figuratively, you've got me. That means you are NOT going to sleep on me eli. hahaha.


At Dhoby Gaut, those who took the purple line boarded the same train as us. At city hall, I saw the other half of the class go up the escalator. haha. The escalator was crowded, peppered with saints. It's an interesting feeling to see a lot of my kind at a public area converging to one place. special feeling.

We proceeded to St. Andrew's Cathedral which is nearly directly above the station. They have a new sanctuary built underneath the road. It looks really cool. They also added a glass-roofed walkway, much appreciated. This cathedral is special to me. I grew up in Anglican schools except for kindergarten so I've been here more than a handful of times. St. Margaret's Primary, I went up the bell tower to see the 8th largest bell in the world, and that was the 2nd time i went there. Also was the thanksgiving service in P6 and Secondary school. Prefect's Commendation was also held there. It's a special place to me.

We waited relatively quietly for the church bells to ring at 11am which would signal the start of the Commendation ceremony.

The bell chimed softly 11 times, Then the 29th Student Council slow-marched in, led by Joel, the 28th Student Council President, wearing an all white garment carrying a golden cross on a staff, singing "Crown Him the (something)". Also, I saw the robe which our Chaplain would wear. It has the St. Andrew's Cross on it. By the way, if you didn't know, the white diagonal lines on a blue background is the St. Andrew's Cross. I later realised upon playback of the video I sounded terrible. I sound a bit whiney and bratish or cutey without asking for it. I sound a bit like Sarah and MT. And I don't want to. I sound weird. Since the skull affects how we hear ourselves, I have concluded that I have a thick skull. My photos also came out blur, with only a few remaining sharp. I must have moved while the shot was being captured because I might have been in an awkward situation, taking photos when maybe I shouldn't. Forgot the 3 second rule where I should hold the camera still for 3 seconds after pressing the shutter button. Therefore I will practice singing and photography skills to improve myself.

When the council sits and rises, they do so in synchrony unimaginable, like robots. Freaky. That's the result of many many practices. (Clara said she'll be glad on this day because it means no more rehearsals.) The council also knelt down for one part. The councillors look smart in their blazers.

The Commendation was like holy communion or some other church ceremonies, with scripted lines like so-and-so, receive this badge and blah blah blah (i can't remember). It was a very formal event. I remember last time there were a pair of sparrows flying around inside the cathedral during secondary school prefects commendation. Last time we also didn't have air-con.

Hmm...YS didn't see the baptism bowl and tub outside. She's never seen such things before because she isn't Christian nor did she go to a Christian school before. It'll be interesting to show her these things. I taught her the difference between a cathedral, a church and a chapel.

After the whole thing when the new councillors marched out of the cathedral and the teachers and parents left, I went out quickly to try and catch Clara. Congrats!!!

Then met up with the others in the once-cafeteria (still is I think) area then took them on a walk. To me, it's not long, but to others who can't take it, it was. I'm suprised some people find it long. I only will think like that when I'm in a hurry.

Took them through Citylink Mall, into Suntec City at the other end of Citylink, one round around the fountain (sorry! didn't know exactly where the door was) then into the middle of Millenia Walk where Bab's Noodles was. Mum helped me book for 10 people earlier. Thanks! Only 8 of us turned up in the end. Didn't know exactly who was going confirmed so I got 10 places.

The place was filled with the office crowd, who know the food there was better and cheaper than other places selling similar things. Food Court ones tend to be too salty. We all ate under $10 sets with those paying more than $10 having ordered ice
lemon tea. This is what I wrote in my organiser.

1:04pm

...Getting flak (indirectly) for bringing them somewhere too expensive for them. The price here is good for jap food and the food is good too. I'm genuinely worried, worried of being "murdered", more of hated, marked for the rest of my life. Ok, it's over the top. But I'm worried. I want this to be a happy class outing, A moment to remember. ...

That was why I was a bit moody after that. But YS found the food good. Thanks YS and EH for cheering me up. :) In the end, I

didn't manage to take a picture with all of us at the table but nevermind. Try AGAIN next time.

EH stopped by both the gift shops in Citylink Mall to look for a teddy bear for her sister. That's after she stopped at all cake and ice cream shops for dry ice prices, which she did before lunch. expensive thing.

We took the MRT and parted our ways.

I being the "host" that I am, I absorbed the 5% GST of $3.40. It isn't much since I brought more than enough money. Other places charge 10% GST. Those are the places where my bank breaks. I also held open doors for them. I'm born and bred to be nice and courteous, especially now. I'm perfect for the service sector, am I not? I like helping people. I also care for my friends, who I will be loyal to in all times, and protect. Last time, when something happened to my friend, I told her "If that idiot comes back, I'm going to confront him." Nothing bad happened to her at all. Also, when another friend was "convicted" of doing wrong by the teacher, I stood up for her because she did not do it. I will not let such things happen.

If anyone of you, my dear friends, need a listening ear, since I'm not good at providing consolation verbally, I'm there.

Really, I will be, not in person all the time but yes. OK?

btw, if you want to leave a note use the guestbook. please do. thanks.

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!