{Saturday, Jun. 06, 2009}
Lunch with HK at SIM, Cleaning up club store, Tuning Fork, Cicilia Waraku

I haven't typed finish my entire entry made up of sub-entries. I might as well release the ones I have settled. I am accumulating a backlog of events to journal.

******

Well, a lot of things have happened in the over-a-week since I have blogged. A LOT. I�ve never had a schedule so packed. The sad thing is that next week, it will be back to the more boring days of bumming again. Ah, if the rest of the days had things to do. I shall break the events into chapters to make reading easier.

Lunch with HK and cleaning up club store

On Thursday I had lunch with HK at SIM before going to school to help clean up the store and do inventory check, sand and oil blades, etc. I found HK wearing a long sleeved v-neck sweater AND a scarf. She says SIM is very cold. Yes, she pointed out the atrium and the atrium is quite cold for a sky-lit indoor atrium. No wonder the SIM ppl are so well-dressed. Besides the profile of arts/business students they are, they have to dress a bit more to keep warm! SIM has megabites and they taste better than the megabites at NUS. The food isn�t frozen, no it�s seasoned and cooked there in that kitchen, and hence tastes better. Thumbs up. I somehow couldn�t finish the food � i wasn�t that hungry that day. The payment system is also like Marche. The place is also bigger than NUS�s. I think I�ll pay a visit there again next time, and deliberately save some space for lunch!

HK had to run off for class since lunch break was only an hour long. We saw at the courtyard, 6 or so people with rollerblades on dancing to the chorus of �nobody�. So off I went to school to get at cleaning up the store.
When I arrived, YJ, Ivan and Flo were already there. I helped Flo stock-take the garments (i.e. count how many of what size of breeches and jackets and plastrons were there in the cage and on the rack). After counting, folding, and even hanging the breeches on hangers on the floorball goalposts like kiam he, I went to help Aerene sand and oil the club�s blades. Some of them were really rusty. We gave them a good sanding and oiling. :D Now they are all clean. Club rules now include: Oil the blade before returning. Wait � has that always been a rule? Now it�s enforcement time!

Tuning Fork

During supper after fencing on Thursday, at Holland, a tuning fork appeared, most probably as a conversation topic on the other table. I saw the tuning fork and asked Jason to let me look at it. It wasn�t a musical tuning fork. It was first of all much bigger than the musical tuning forks I have seen so far. Secondly, it had a circular disc on the handle, where I could place my fingers to hold the tuning fork. Thirdly, there was another circular disc, this time not ruffled (I�m referring to ruffles chips) at the end of the tuning fork, perpendicular to the former. I took the tuning fork and hit it on my wrist bone a few times, listening to the sound it produced after placing it next to my ear. I found out later while waiting for the MRT ride back with Jason and Reynold that it is used to check if the patient can feel the vibrations produced by the tuning fork (and hence check the nervous system). After setting it to vibrate, the smaller circular disc, the one at the end of the tuning fork, is placed against a bony part of the patient�s body. Ooo. Interesting.
I also saw an inscription on the tuning fork: C-128. I wonder what the C stood for, suspecting that it was the note it produced. I checked with MP. C one octave below the middle C is 128Hz. Ooo. So now my hearing is off. I heard the tuning fork as C or D, so I was a bit confused �and knew my pitch-perfect hearing has gone off.

Cicilia, Waraku

On Friday evening, I had dinner with Cicilia, Rebekah and YW. After finding them at Lucky Plaza�s Macs, we walked over to Heeren to look for dinner. On the way there was some pavement-side thing where promoters gave away free twisties in 2 new flavours: peri-peri and wasabi. It tasted nice, but I buay tahan the spiciness of the wasabi flavour that did not go away quickly. We first hung around downstairs at the fountain outside shokudo before going upstairs. I hadn�t been in Heeren for a long time. Years. We settled on Waraku at the top floor. Cici remembered her bro liked the waraku in Indonesia, which she/we suspect is a different entity from this waraku after looking at the menu.

Cici had ramen, I had nabe (is that what the stone pot is called?) of pork belly and added udon. Rebekah and YW had the same dish: cod roe spaghetti. Looking at the menu, the dishes aren�t really Japanese. There was a joke going around. The dish YW had to decide if it was nice �times 2� or not nice �times 2�. Some �times 2� joke. My nabe was nice. Just that it is not filling. I still wanted more food after that.
MP was having a hair cut for graduation and was running late. I phoned her to ask where she was, and we passed the phone amongst the 4 of us, changing our voices and asking �who am I?� confusing MP quite a bit. Heehee. We broke into laughter. I hadn�t had such a good laugh in a long time. I laughed and fell back onto the cushioned seating.
I had ordered an ice cream and finished that BEFORE MP came, even though I deliberately withheld myself from the last spoonful. MP didn�t let me eat her ramen. I ate some of her sashimi though. I was still not full.
My finding: Waraku has good food but ichiban is more value for money. Ichiban tastes just as nice, but is cheaper and more filling.

Thereafter paying the bill, we went to that same fountain to take a bit of photos and talk a bit more before Rebekah had to leave. Soon after, the rest of us left, MP and I to the airport.

Mummy comes back

KM, MT and Daddy were already on the road � we didn�t leave Heeren early enough to reach back home to follow them in the car. Turns out, there was an accident and hence a jam along the expressway, so MP and I got there first. I hadn�t had a conversation with MP for a long long long time. She (and MT too) are lost in their own worlds in cyberspace, leaving me quite alone. We don�t even talk on MSN. What to do? It�s nice to finally be able to talk to her.

At the airport, MP took out a hard disk and played episodes of �The Pretenders�, the series of anime that led to �Transformers�.

We were waiting for Mum to appear � we couldn�t spot her at all at the conveyor belt. And then, she appeared behind us. KM had broken his diet AGAIN. I had a cheap thrill near the carpark. With Mum�s loaded trolley, and that slope outside carpark 3B at T3, I stood at the back of the trolley and rolled down the slope, exclaiming �g=9.81m/s� (i forgot the squared). And on the upward slope, I exclaimed �W=mg� as the trolley slowed down. Note to future trolley-slope-riders: do this only if the trolley is loaded with luggage (not humans). I like cheap thrills because they are 1: thrilling, and 2: cheap! Hahaha!

Mum bought a lot of things again. Lots more Lock �n Lock boxes, pyjamas (I notice my pyjama drawer already has difficulty closing), some stuff from MUJI (which MT likes a lot and hence introduced to Mum the store in Bei Jing), almonds, other dried food, etc. Haizz. Haha, nice to get stuff from ppl though. One is the novelty of getting something new. The second thing is that they thought about you and remembered you. (:

HK�s Birthday

On Saturday evening, I went to HK�s auntie�s place for a BBQ to celebrate her 21st birthday. She didn�t invite many people, only those who were staying nearby because the journey home otherwise would be long. She invited only her family in Singapore, her former office colleagues who were working nearby, PS who was at Bishan earlier and I. It was a small close gathering. I feel very privileged to be invited and attend her celebration of her special day. I got to know PS better; previously he was only an acquaintance I met once at the McNair Lodge outing (and I forgot the face thereafter especially since that time was quite dark and I didn�t really notice his face). I also got to know her cousins (technically her aunties), and I clicked with one of them quite well. I advised that cousin to work hard in poly(she just started year 1) for success there is attainable. At one point, the older cousin was playing with the young about 5 years old cousin, playing catching at the playground. PS later was playing catching with that cousin. It was quite amusing seeing the 2 of them chasing each other. Both of them were wearing tank tops of similar design (white with some coloured piping) and jeans, so it was like a smaller version chasing the bigger version and vice-versa.

Later when all her friends left except me, I also got to know her family. They are quite a warm close-knitted bunch, though not as loud that night as HK describes they could be. I sat with them and they opened up to me. They�re really nice people. But alas, I had to go home. I had a good night. God bless you HK Da Jie. You are such a blessing to me.

That's it for now folks, give your eyes a vision break! HAPPY BIRTHDAY SY!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!