{Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008}
Foreign Service Tea Session, CNY shopping, Ye Ye's dinner.

On Saturday, 2nd Feb, I went for the Foreign Service Scholarship tea session at Raffles City Convention Centre. I was there very early, registration opened earlier for the early birds such as I. I really didn't know what to do and I was alone, so I went to the washroom.

The washroom was big! In addition, there were 2 "sofa"s, which were big seats in the wall, and a long powder counter top and mirror with free tissue that I didn't use.

I sat down and looked through the contents of the bag that the invitees received upon registration. The bag and the items were of a stylish clean design and they were useful items. I also chatted with mum on the phone to pass away the time. I didn't know anyone there at that point in time and I didn't think any SA person would be there, since in the confirmation of details in the email I received, the person thought I was from RJC....I'm unfortunately not so clever or talented lah.

There was a water-cooler conveniently located outside the washroom. The area outside the conference room was very spacious. I think this place is a very nice place to hold a conference.

I thought of watching the chinese musician lady groups perform but when I could hear that the ladies were instrument-synching (something like lip-synching), I walked away. I am not going to listen to "fake, just smile and act and be pretty" performances.

I had never seen so many "botak" heads in my life ever, some boys had been released from NS for a short while to attend the event.

On my return after the Nth trip to the washroom, most of the people had gone into the conference room, and I met Amanda outside, who I haven't seen in months. wow. So now I had someone to sit with. :)

I noticed many people had a problem with the dress code which was "smart casual". It refers to the clothes we wear to work nowadays, a long sleeve business shirt or a formal polo shirt, and pants, not jeans. If a dress, it must be a bit formal. yup.

The speakers stories were interesting and informative on what working in the foreign service is like. A lot of admin work, long hours but several rewarding moments, such as when they get their overseas posting, meet the leaders, etc...

I think the slide show and the video presentation wasn't very well done, I mean, yes they got their point through, but aesthetically, it wasn't very stylish or beautiful or pretty or good-looking...you get what I mean right? I think I could've made a better looking video that has better angles and story-boarding and a more stylish slideshow. I could tell that the photos were taken just on that day itself because the speakers were wearing the same attire (except for one or 2) and the background was that of the area outside.

I just remembered something that I've been wanting to blog on for some time but never got around to. I noticed that while people are studying (mostly guys but I too am guilty of it), they hum and sing to themselves and they are not aware of it. Sometimes it can be quite loud, can be heard from one or 2 tables away, but most of the time, only the people at the table can hear it. Interesting, no? What my friend and I do when we notice someone is singing to themselves is leave them alone to continue singing cos it would be embarrasing if we told them to stop something they aren't aware of.

After the speeches was the Q&A session, and I noticed only one of the panelists was female. hmm... haha. Several questions, they were good questions were asked. From there did I find out another SA person attended. It's the guy in the coucil ex-co with glasses and fair skin, and very good in his GP, as I heard. He ask a really good and cheem question that the most experienced FSO, who they put in charge of the most difficult questions, was assigned to answer it. It had to do with an FSO's morals conflicting with the nation's objectives. gotta be like a lawyer.

Then at the tea session afterwards I met Rebecca, whom I also didn't expect to come. It was nice seeing her again.

From the submission of the survey form I received a free book "The Little Red Dot: Reflections of Singapore's diplomats". I'm still carrying it in my bag now. It's a good book, with essays of the experiences of many FSOs, including former president the late Wee Kim Wee and current President S.R. Nathan. Bryan, my cousin interested in Foreign Service, says it's a good book. Pity they gave it out for free. If you read the Sunday Times, you might agree that people don't give the proper respect books deserve to free books. I am one who will read a few pages first to decide if the free book is really, a good book or a waste of paper.

I got MP to come to Raffles City and both of us walked around to do our CNY clothes shopping. MP got her working shirt and pants from G2000 and she and I got a camisole from marks and spencer for wearing inside our workshirts. A few days later, MP found out that the work attire for her internship attachment is polo shirt and jeans, and she has probably only 1 polo shirt. -_-"

There was this white mock shrug top that I didn't know whether to buy or not at Marks and Spencer, but the sleeves were so short it can almost be sleeveless. So I didn't buy it. Couldn't really find anything that fitted me that day.

On Sunday after church, our father's side of the family had somewhat of a reunion dinner at peach garden in Novena. We were celebrating Yeye's birthday in advance. The food was very nice, and not spicy like Cathay's. yummy. I find that I don't click well with my cousins there who were older than me. The closest was debbie, but even then it's not super close. These older cousins grew up together whereas the bunch of 4 of us were already our own group, so no need to send them over to be together for play time or anything like that. But nothing too bad... i guess. My father gives special attention to my cousins who he didn't see for a long time, because one is his godson (before we were born and hence he had no children then to fawn over and hence looked after my cousin with my grandmother while the parents were living far far away in bedok), and the other is passionate about photography, like him. oh well.. I guess I have no talent in the arts. You know, when people find out you do something artistic, like film production, photography, dance, acting, etc....... they go "so cool!" Ya, i'm too scientific, I guess no matter how much I try to be artistic, I'm mediocre. But hey, at least I made an attempt ok? I've got a few sketches somewhere....

On Monday night, Mum took me out late at night to go do my CNY shopping at Robinsons, which closed at 10pm whereas Metro and Tangs closed at 9.30pm. I finally got a elbow-length sleeve polo shirt which is casual and yet still formal enough for work (i think), and an elbow length mock shrug top in dark brown. nice. :)

When we went downstairs, we were suprised to see Giodarno still open and accepting customers. We bought MT two pretty tops there. I nearly bought a pair of skinny jeans, which was $63 after a 30% discount. The material was soft and the jeans looked nice, but I had nothing to wear with the skinny jeans and it was tight around my knees. bony me. The sales assistant with a name similar to Elaine, was very helpful and persuasive and patient with us. And now Giodarno membership is lifetime and cardless, just need HP no. and answer a confirmation question on your details and done! so easy, good cos no more "aiyah, forgot to bring the card" incidents. And it can be used in Giodarno stores in other countries. Wow. That's called v.good service. :D

By the way, is G2000 and Giodarno related?

Yesterday morning, I shadowed the teachers of the PCMH classes for short intervals each, seeing how the different ages of children are being taught, from about 6 yrs old, to teenagers to 2 quite able children who can communicate but have other disabilities and are in wheelchair. The sessions are very different, and it's true that each child is very different. It was an interesting experience. I shall not go into further detail.

Last night during dinner time, my body felt as though I had a fever, I could feel my ears having a "swollen" feeling inside and my head was a bit heavy and I was tired. MT's illness had deteorated, who ask her to do PE just after recovery when I told her not too? and MP and I also caught a fever. We used the thermometer and confirmed it. I took 2 panadol pills and a cup of honey water, just as MP did. MP went to sleep earlier while I read the bible and played around with the HP Daddy gave me. It's his old HP, but I don't really want to accept it, knowing he has problems with his current phone and prefers the older phone. Anyway, I have the oldest phone in the whole house, but my old phone is a good phone, the right small slim size, the rubber keypads instead of hard plastic, rubber side grips, red casing, and best of all, flashing triple colour lights when it rings. hahaha. The only problem is that there's very little memory space on it.

Today is CNY eve. I found out this morning that there is going to be steamboat tonight for chuan yan fan or reunion dinner. I am so happy! I haven't had steamboat in such a long time. oh dear...3 of us girls are infected... YUMMY! But I'll try to take the proper hygiene measures. Also, earlier, a little boy went around with a teacher and he was instructed to give hongbaos with sweets inside to everyone and do the 'gong xi gong xi' thing with the fists clasped together. So cute. I also found Joel's and Joshua's wensites.

half an hour till I'm released!

MF's and Lynn's birthday's are coming up. Happy Birthday in advance!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!