{Thursday, Dec. 10, 2009}
Sprite and Coke

Sprite and Coke

9th December 2009, Wednesday

Hmm. I can�t find a rocktastic font to use. Well, today Marie came over to play Rock Band, as we agreed to do during holidays. I was really looking forward to it and so was she. It began to rain at 1.50pm, 10minutes before our agreed time so I called her and she came over quickly. How great it is that an event is not cancelled due to weather!

We set up the xbox quickly and soon started playing the original version of RB. We set up a band called �sprite and coke� (we were too lazy to type out the capitals), and a new character for Marie. I was inspired by one of the names of the hairstyles/faces available as Marie was choosing the hair, called Sprite. And frankly, I wasn�t very creative at that moment.
We started touring and unlocking songs. The drum set was particularly UNRESPONSIVE. Marie started with the drums and I with the guitar and she kept dying. I thought it was because the song was hard for drums (some were) but later when we switched instruments after seeing her struggle, I found out why. I had to hit the red and yellow pads harder, at an angle, and follow the screen instead of the beat I heard or felt. And that was how I mostly overcame drums. I still missed a few beats.

We got tired of the rock band songs which were getting harder and more competitive, and switched to the more melodic Beatles. The great thing about the Beatles version is that all the songs are unlocked. We played quick play and chose whatever songs we wanted.

We took several �health breaks� as I called them in between. In other words it was to drink water and rest our tired arms hands and catch our breath! Who said music wasn�t exercise should try this then say!

As the day went on, we chose the faster songs to keep our energy up. We disconnected the drum set and connected the mike for there were only two of us and we determined it quite difficult to play an instrument and sing for I could not find somewhere to put the mike on the drum set. Singing was a lot less tiring than playing the instruments. Marie sang first. However since she was soprano, it was a bit difficult for half of the notes were not in her range. That is the thing about rock band: most of the songs are sung by males and when transposed up an octave it may not fit the range. Transposing is already a mental challenge. So we swapped for I could sing the alto ranges.

We reset several high scores, and gave scores to songs which were never played before. We in fact played most of the songs except songs that were not sing-able such as �helter skelter�. In all we played more than 3 hours solid, not including the breaks in between. We were tired but had great fun. :D we encouraged each other on and hi-5-ed many times. We rock lah!

i'm feeling...
The current mood of animalz at www.imood.com

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!

adopt your own virtual pet!